In publica commoda

Ancient Cultures (M.A.)

Features

The Master's programme "Ancient Cultures" is supported by the Centrum Orbis Orientalis et Occidentalis (CORO). Thus, the programme combines the important pillars of subjectspecific training and interdisciplinarity within Classical Studies. Both are of decisive value for a professional qualification. In Göttingen, you can study the Master's degree "Ancient Cultures" with various specialisation subjects.

Name:
Ancient Cultures
Degree:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Options:
Part-time studies
Standard period of study:
4 semesters
Start of studies:
Summer and winter semester
Teaching language:
German
Admission:
Application to the Faculty

Get to know us

Programme specific Studierende Philosophische Fakultät 720px

Humanities and Cultural Sciences

Information for prospective students

Cross-programme Studenten Sport Fußball 2

Student life

Living, finances and culture


Details

The M.A. Ancient Cultures is a consecutive degree programme that is divided into different study specialisations, one of which must be chosen. Building on relevant Bachelor's degree programmes, in-depth linguistic, artistic, cultural-scientific and historical knowledge of the ancient civilisations of the Mediterranean region and of early Christianity is taught.

The specialisation "Ancient History" offers the opportunity to grasp the political and historical developments of the states of the ancient world from the advanced civilisations of the 3rd millennium BC to the post-Christian period in their variety and diversity, to get to know and explore their culture, their social structures, their monuments and lifeworlds and finally, to acquire the corresponding methodological approaches.

The specialisation "Egyptology and Coptic Studies" as well as the individual specialisations "Egyptology" and "Coptic Studies" offer the opportunity to explore the culture and society of Egypt and Sudan and to acquire the corresponding methodological approaches and the most important language skills. In the specialisation Egyptology, all cultural forms of expression are taught from the prehistory of the Nile Valley and the eastern Mediterranean region to the Roman imperial period with Egypt as an imperial province, and in the specialisation "Coptology" from the early Christian period through late antiquity and the Middle Ages to modern times.

The specialisation "Christian Cultures of the Middle East" offers the opportunity to grasp the religious and historical developments of the Christian cultures of the Eastern Mediterranean region and the Middle East in their diversity and variety, to get to know and research their culture, their social structures, their monuments and lifeworlds and, finally, to acquire the corresponding methodological approaches.

Degree-holders will be qualified for work in academic teaching and research as well as in the educational field and in the cultural sector. Areas of work therefore include academic institutions, institutions of further education, museums, publishing houses and newspapers, as qualified travel guides etc.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

This degree programme can be studied in 3 different profiles.

  • Single Honours MA totalling 78 credits (mono-master)
  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with one module package (minor) totalling 36 credits
  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with two module packages (minors) totalling 18 credits each

You can apply for one study profile with one study focus.

1. - 4. Semester

4. Semester

Master’s thesis

4. Semester

Master’s thesis

Regulations and module directory


Application

  • B.A.-Degree or equivalent
  • At least 150 ECTS at the time of application
  • Eligibility: Either
    • achievements in history amounting to at least 60 credits, including achievements in ancient history amounting to at least 20 credits, or
    • achievements in Ancient Studies / Ancient Cultures amounting to at least 75 credits, including achievements in the field of Greek history and Roman history amounting to at least 6 credits each, but totalling at least 20 credits, or
    • achievements in Egyptology, Coptology, Classical Philology, Papyrology, Classical Archaeology, Christian Archaeology, Prehistory and Early History, Ancient Oriental Studies, Cuneiform Studies, Near Eastern Archaeology, Ancient History, Medieval and Modern History, Byzantine Studies, Protestant Theology, Catholic Theology, Jewish Studies, African Studies, Arabic Studies, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Classical Studies, Gender Studies, Art History, Comparative Literature, Linguistics, Ancient Studies/Antique Cultures, Anthropology, Ethnology, European Ethnology/Folklore or Religious Studies totalling at least 50 credits, or
    • achievements in the field of Coptology, Christian Archaeology or Theology amounting to at least 60 credits or
    • at least 75 credits in Ancient Studies/Antique Cultures, including at least 6 credits each in Coptic Studies, Christian Archaeology and Theology, but at least 20 credits in total.
  • If your native language is not German, you must demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the German language at level C1.
  • Applicants who provide evidence of a subject-relevant previous studies of "Ancient History" must provide evidence of knowledge of Latin to the extent of the Latinum. The proof must be provided by the end of the second semester; the enrolment is conditional until the proof of performance is provided.
  • Applicants who provide evidence of relevant previous studies in Egyptology and/or Coptology must provide evidence of language proficiency in Middle Egyptian or Sahidic to the extent of at least 12 C or language proficiency in Middle Egyptian to the extent of at least 12 C or language proficiency in Sahidic to the extent of at least 12 C. The evidence must be provided by the end of the second semester. The proof must be provided by the end of the second semester; enrolment is conditional until the proof of performance is provided.
  • The prerequisite for admission to the Master's thesis with the chosen specialisation "Ancient History" as well as "Christian Cultures of the Middle East" is also proof of sufficient knowledge of Ancient Greek (basic knowledge of at least 4 C or equivalent proof) if the topic of the Master's thesis relates to the Greek language area.

Recommended language skills

  • In the specialisation "Ancient History", basic knowledge of Ancient Greek as well as English and another modern European foreign language is strongly recommended.
  • In the specialisations "Egyptology and Coptology", "Egyptology" and "Coptology", knowledge of relevant modern specialist languages such as English and French as well as - in the case of Coptological profiling - basic knowledge of Ancient Greek is recommended.
  • In the specialisation "Christian Cultures of the Middle East", knowledge of the most important modern languages (such as English, French as well as Italian, Spanish, Modern Greek, Turkish and/or Arabic) as well as e.g. Coptic, Syriac, Aramaic, Amharic, Hebrew, Farsi, Ge'ez, Latin and Ancient Greek is recommended.

Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Questions on the programme

Orell Witthuhn, M.A.
Centrum Orbis Orientalis et Occidentalis (CORO)

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14, 2.OG Zimmer 2.631
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49-551 39 27496

E-Mail: antikekulturen@uni-goettingen.de

Office Hours: by arrangement via contact form
Homepage

Questions regarding applications

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1st floor)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Academic Advising

(Ancient History)

Dr. Jutta Günther

Humboldtallee 21
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 551 39 5475

E-Mail: jutta.guenther@uni-goettingen.de

Office Hours: by arrangement

Academic Advising

(Egyptology and Coptology)

Dr. Janne Arp-Neumann

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14 (KWZ), Raum 2.809
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49-551 39 21200

E-Mail: aegypten@uni-goettingen.de

Office Hours: by arrangement

Academic Advising

(Christian Cultures of the Middle East)

Prof. Dr. Achim Arbeiter & Dr. Jon C. Cubas Díaz

Nikolausberger Weg 15
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 7470

E-Mail: aarbeit@gwdg.de
E-Mail: jon.cubasdiaz@uni-goettingen.de

Office hours during semester: by arrangement

In publica commoda

Antike Kulturen (M.A.)

Steckbrief

Der Masterstudiengang „Antike Kulturen“ wird von dem Centrum Orbis Orientalis et Occidentalis (CORO) getragen. Dadurch vereint der Studiengang die wichtigen Säulen der fachspezifischen Ausbildung und der Interdisziplinarität innerhalb der Altertumswissenschaften. Beide sind für eine Berufsqualifizierung von entscheidendem Wert. In Göttingen können Sie den Master „Antike Kulturen“ mit verschiedenen Schwerpunktfächern studieren.

Name:
Antike Kulturen
Abschluss:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Optionen:
Teilzeitstudium
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Sommer- und Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Bewerbung bei der Fakultät

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fachspezifisch Studierende Philosophische Fakultät 720px

Geistes- Kulturwissenschaften

Informationen für Studieninteressierte

Fächerübergreifend Studenten Sport Fußball 2

Wohnen und Leben

Wohnen, Finanzierung und Freizeit


Inhalte

Der M.A. Antike Kulturen ist ein konsekutiver Studiengang, der sich in verschiedene Studienschwerpunkte gliedert, von denen einer zu wählen ist. Aufbauend auf einschlägigen Bachelor-Studiengängen werden vertiefte sprach-, kunst-, kulturwissenschaftliche und historische Kenntnisse über die alten Zivilisationen des Mittelmeerraums und über das frühe Christentum vermittelt.

Der Studienschwerpunkt „Alte Geschichte“ bietet die Möglichkeit, die politischen und historischen Entwicklungen der Staaten der Antiken Welt von den Hochkulturen des 3. Jahrtausends v. Chr. bis in die nachchristliche Zeit in ihrer Vielfalt und Vielfältigkeit zu erfassen, ihre Kultur, ihre Gesellschaftsstrukturen, ihre Denkmäler und Lebenswelten kennenzulernen und zu erforschen und schließlich, sich die entsprechenden methodischen Zugänge anzueignen.

Der Studienschwerpunkt „Ägyptologie und Koptologie“ wie auch die einzelnen Schwerpunkte „Ägyptologie“ und „Koptologie“ bieten die Möglichkeit, die Kultur und Gesellschaft Ägyptens und des Sudans zu erforschen und sich die entsprechenden methodischen Zugänge und die wichtigsten Sprachkenntnisse anzueignen. Im Schwerpunkt Ägyptologie werden von der Vorgeschichte des Niltals und des östlichen Mittelmeerraumes bis in die römische Kaiserzeit mit Ägypten als kaiserliche Provinz, im Schwerpunkt „Koptologie“ von der frühchristlichen Zeit über Spätantike und Mittelalter bis in die Moderne hinein alle kulturellen Äußerungsformen gelehrt.

Der Studienschwerpunkt „Christliche Kulturen des Nahen Ostens“ bietet die Möglichkeit, die religiösen und historischen Entwicklungen der christlichen Kulturen des Ostmittelmeerraums bzw. des Nahen Ostens in ihrer Vielfalt und Vielfältigkeit zu erfassen, ihre Kultur, ihre Gesellschaftsstrukturen, ihre Denkmäler und Lebenswelten kennenzulernen und zu erforschen und schließlich, sich die entsprechenden methodischen Zugänge anzueignen.

Der Abschluss qualifiziert sowohl zu Tätigkeiten in der akademischen Lehre und Forschung als auch im Bildungsbereich und auf dem kulturellen Sektor. Tätigkeitsfelder bieten sich somit an akademischen Institutionen, weiterbildenden Einrichtungen, Museen, Verlagen und Zeitungen, als qualifizierte Reisebegleitung etc. an.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Studiengang lässt sich in ins­gesamt 3 verschiedenen Profilen studieren.

  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 78 Credits (Monomaster)
  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und ein Modulpaket (Nebenfach) im Umfang von 36 Credits
  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und zwei Modulpakete (Nebenfächer) im Umfang von jeweils 18 Credits

Sie bewerben sich auf ein Studienprofil mit einem Studienschwerpunkt.

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Bewerbung

  • B.A.-Abschluss oder vergleichbarer Abschluss
  • mind. 150 ECTS zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung
  • Fachliche Einschlägigkeit: Entweder
    • Leistungen in der Geschichte im Umfang von wenigstens 60 Anrechnungspunkten, darunter Leistungen in Alter Geschichte im Umfang von wenigstens 20 Anrechnungspunkten, oder
    • Leistungen in der Altertumswissenschaft / Antike Kulturen im Umfang von wenigstens 75 Anrechnungspunkten, darunter Leistungen im Bereich der griechischen Geschichte sowie der römischen Geschichte im Umfang von jeweils wenigstens 6 Anrechnungspunkten, insgesamt aber von wenigstens 20 Anrechnungspunkten, oder
    • Leistungen in Ägyptologie, Koptologie, Klassischer Philologie, Papyrologie, Klassischer Archäologie, Christlicher Archäologie, Ur- und Frühgeschichte, Altorientalistik, Keilschriftkunde, Vorderasiatischer Archäologie, Alte Geschichte, Mittlerer und Neuer Geschichte, Byzantinistik, Evangelischer Theologie, Katholischer Theologie, Judaistik/Jewish Studies, Afrikanistik, Arabistik, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Classical Studies, Gender Studies, Kunstgeschichte, Komparatistik/Vergleichender Literaturwissenschaft, Linguistik, Altertumswissenschaft/Antike Kulturen, Anthropologie, Ethnologie, Europäischer Ethnologie/Volkskunde oder Religionswissenschaft im Umfang von wenigstens 50 Anrechnungspunkten, oder
    • Leistungen im Bereich der Koptologie, christlichen Archäologie oder Theologie im Umfang von wenigstens 60 Anrechnungspunkten oder
    • Leistungen in der Altertumswissenschaft/Antike Kulturen im Umfang von wenigstens 75 Anrechnungspunkten, darunter Leistungen im Bereich der Koptologie, der christlichen Archäologie sowie der Theologie im Umfang von jeweils wenigstens 6 Anrechnungspunkten, insgesamt aber von wenigstens 20 Anrechnungspunkten.
  • Falls Ihre Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist, müssen Sie ausreichende Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache auf dem Niveau C1 nachweisen.
  • Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die ein fachlich einschlägiges Vorstudium der „Alten Geschichte“ nachweisen, müssen Kenntnisse des Lateinischen im Umfang des Latinums nachweisen. Der Nachweis ist bis zum Ende des zweiten Fachsemesters zu erbringen; die Einschreibung ist bis zum Nachweis der Leistung auflösend bedingt.
  • Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die ein fachlich einschlägiges Vorstudium der Ägyptologie und/oder der Koptologie nachweisen, müssen Sprachkenntnisse des Mittelägyptischen oder des Sahidischen im Umfang von wenigstens 12 C oder Sprachkenntnisse des Mittelägyptischen im Umfang von wenigstens 12 C oder Sprachkenntnisse des Sahidischen im Umfang von wenigstens 12 C nachweisen. Der Nachweis ist bis zum Ende des zweiten Fachsemesters zu erbringen; die Einschreibung ist bis zum Nachweis der Leistung auflösend bedingt.
  • Voraussetzung zur Zulassung zur Masterarbeit mit gewähltem Studienschwerpunkt „Alte Geschichte“ sowie "Christliche Kulturen des Nahen Ostens" ist ferner der Nachweis ausreichender Kenntnisse des Altgriechischen (Grundkenntnisse im Umfang von wenigstens 4 C oder äquivalente Nachweise), wenn sich das Thema der Masterarbeit auf den griechischen Sprachraum bezieht.

Empfohlene Sprachkenntnisse:

  • Im Studienschwerpunkt „Alte Geschichte“ werden Grundkenntnisse des Altgriechischen sowie der englischen Sprache und einer weiteren modernen europäischen Fremdsprache dringend empfohlen.
  • In den Studienschwerpunkten „Ägyptologie und Koptologie“, „Ägyptologie“ und „Koptologie“ werden Kenntnisse einschlägiger moderner Fachsprachen wie Englisch und Französisch sowie – bei koptologischer Profilbildung – Grundkenntnisse des Altgriechischen empfohlen.
  • Im Studienschwerpunkt „Christliche Kulturen des Nahen Ostens“ werden Kenntnisse der wichtigsten modernen Sprachen (wie z. B. Englisch, Französisch sowie Italienisch, Spanisch, Neugriechisch, Türkisch und/oder Arabisch) sowie z.B. Koptisch, Syrisch, Aramäisch, Amharisch, Hebräisch, Farsi, Ge’ez, Latein und Altgriechisch empfohlen.

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Allgemeine Studiengangsberatung

Orell Witthuhn, M.A.
Centrum Orbis Orientalis et Occidentalis (CORO)

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14, 2.OG Zimmer 2.631
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49-551 39 27496

E-Mail: antikekulturen@uni-goettingen.de

Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung über Kontaktformular
Homepage

Fragen zur Bewerbung

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1. Stock)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Tel: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

(Alte Geschichte)

Dr. Jutta Günther

Humboldtallee 21
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 5475

E-Mail: jutta.guenther@uni-goettingen.de

Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung

Spezifische Fachberatung

(Ägyptologie und Koptologie)

Dr. Janne Arp-Neumann

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14 (KWZ), Raum 2.809
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49-551 39 21200

E-Mail: aegypten@uni-goettingen.de

Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung

Spezifische Fachberatung

(Christliche Kulturen des Nahen Ostens)

Prof. Dr. Achim Arbeiter & Dr. Jon C. Cubas Díaz

Nikolausberger Weg 15
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 7470

E-Mail: aarbeit@gwdg.de
E-Mail: jon.cubasdiaz@uni-goettingen.de

Sprechzeiten im Semester: nach Vereinbarung