Academic coordination


The Academic coordination of CeMig has the following tasks:


  • organisation and further establishment of CeMig
  • coordination of research activities and third-party funding
  • conceptualization, preparation and organisation of various event formats (conferences, workshops, panel discussions)
  • expansion of internal and external university networks
  • public relations


Since the beginning of March 2018 Dr. Jelka Günther has taken over the coordination of CeMig.

Dr. Jelka Günther

Jelka Günther is an anthropologist and has specialized regionally in Southeast Asia (Thailand). Her dissertation “Thailand in Motion: Nostalgia and Domestic Tourism Mobilities” (translation of the German title) examines the interdependence of domestic tourism and migration movements against the background of politicised urban-rural relations in Thailand. In the field of science management - and communication she finds the task of making research knowledge understandable for a broad public particularly interesting.




Jelka Günther is supported by the student assistant Leon-Fabian Caspari and Guido Albrecht-Böning.


Leon-Fabian Caspari

Leon-Fabian Caspari (Mail) is a master student of Social and Cultural Anthropology. In his studies he is particularly interested in transnational labour migration, international student mobility and migration in the context of climate change in East and Southeast Asia, as well as in Germany. He deepened his knowledge about this topic during his semester abroad in Hong Kong and his internship in Taiwan. He wrote his bachelor thesis about the changing perceptions of selfhood of international Chinese students in the context of their mobility and conducted his ethnographic fieldwork in Göttingen.




Guido Albrecht-Böning

Guido Albrecht-Böning (Mail) is a Master student of Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology. His main topics are the perception of places of remembrance and the sustainable design of everyday life. Albrecht-Böning places particular emphasis on the impact of research results on society, for example through the installation of a notice board or the travelling exhibition "Göttinger Nachhaltigkeits­geschichten" (in progress).

In the course of his Master's degree he participated in the radio programme "Ankommen in Göttingen", which was the result of a teaching research project by Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess. For his radio report "In vier Schritten zu keiner Wohnung – und darüber, wie es manche doch schaffen" (in german) Albrecht-Böning accompanied refugees in Göttingen on their search for an apartment and talked to helpers.

Wissenschaftliche Koordination

Die wissenschaftliche Koordination des CeMig hat insbesondere folgende Aufgaben:

  • Organisation und Ausbau des CeMig
  • Koordinierung der Forschungsaktivitäten und Drittmittelakquise
  • Konzeptualisierung, Vorbereitung und Organisation von verschiedenen
    Veranstaltungsformaten (Konferenzen, Workshops, Podiumsdiskussionen)
  • Ausbau der hochschulinternen und -externen Vernetzung
  • Öffentlichkeitsarbeit


Seit Anfang März 2018 hat Dr. Jelka Günther die Koordination des CeMig übernommen.

Dr. Jelka Günther

Jelka Günther ist Ethnologin und hat sich regional auf Südostasien (insb. Thailand) spezialisiert. Ihre Dissertation „Thailand in Bewegung: Nostalgien und inländische Tourismusmobilitäten“ beleuchtet die Verflechtung von Inlandstourismus und Migrationsbewegungen vor dem Hintergrund politisierter Stadt-Land-Beziehungen in Thailand. Am Bereich Wissenschaftsmanagement – und kommunikation findet sie insbesondere die Aufgabe spannend, Forschungswissen für eine breite Öffentlichkeit verstehbar zu machen.




Unterstützt wird Jelka Günther von den studentischen Hilfskräften Leon-Fabian Caspari und Guido Albrecht-Böning.


Leon-Fabian Caspari

Leon-Fabian Caspari ist Master Student der Ethnologie. Im Rahmen seines Studiums beschäftigt er sich insbesondere mit transnationaler Arbeitsmigration, internationaler Studierendenmobilität und Migration im Kontext des Klimawandels in Ost-und Südostasien, sowie in Deutschland. Diese Themen haben ihn auch während seines Auslandssemesters in Hongkong und seines Praktikums in Taiwan beschäftigt. Seine Bachelorarbeit befasst sich mit den veränderten Selbstwahrnehmungen internationaler chinesischer Studierender im Kontext ihrer Mobilität. Die zugrunde liegende ethnographische Feldforschung führte er in Göttingen durch.




Guido Albrecht-Böning

Guido Albrecht-Böning ist Master Student der Kultur­anthropologie/ Europäische Ethnologie. Seine Themen­­schwerpunkte sind die Wahr­nehmung von Erinnerungs­orten sowie die nachhaltige Alltags­gestaltung. Besonderen Fokus legt Albrecht-Böning dabei auf die Rück­wirkung der Forschungs­ergebnisse auf die Gesellschaft bspw. durch die Aufstellung einer Hinweistafel oder die Wander­ausstellung "Göttinger Nachhaltigkeits­geschichten" (in Arbeit).

Im Rahmen seines Master-Studiums wirkte er an der Radiosendung "Ankommen in Göttingen" mit, die als Ergebnis eines Lehrforschungsprojektes von Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess entstand. Für seinen Radiobeitrag "In vier Schritten zu keiner Wohnung – und darüber, wie es manche doch schaffen" begleitete Albrecht-Böning Geflüchtete in Göttingen auf der Wohnungssuche und sprach mit Helfenden.