In publica commoda

Economics (BSc)

Features

Economics deals with macroeconomic processes. It analyzes, among other things, the preconditions for economic growth, the causes of unemployment, the determinants of price developments, and the goals and effects of government activity. In a market economy, the main focus is on the functioning of markets, but also on the conditions under which market failure occurs and government intervention is required. In addition, economics deals with the economic relations between states.

In the bachelor's programme in economics at the Faculty of Business and Economics, students can, in addition to a sound basic education in economics and business administration as well as empirical methods, choose to specialize in a variety of areas such as international trade and production, development economics, behavioral economics, or quantitative methods. Courses taught in English (including by guest lecturers), courses in Business English and the possibility of a semester abroad round off the international education.

Name:
Economics
Degree:
Bachelor of Science (BSc)
Teaching language:
German
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start of studies:
Winter and summer semester
Admission:
Restricted
(application to the University)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered
Pre-course:
A pre-course is offered

Get to know us

Fachspezifisch Studentenwerk Z-Mensa Gruppe 720px

Virtual tour

Campus tour with students (in German)

Ranking Innenhof OEC 720px

CHE-Ranking 2020

Outstanding ratings

Programme specific Karte-A-Z-Testimonials-WiWi-Bachelor

Studying economics

Our students share their stories

Cross-programme Schnupperstudium
from end

Trial study programme

Visit lectures and courses


Details

The degree programme is divided into two phases: the orientation phase (1st and 2nd semester) and the advanced/ specialisation phase (3rd to 6th semester).

In the orientation phase students are expected first, to learn the different ways of posing problems and their respective methods of resolution, and second, to become acquainted with neighbouring disciplines. Apart from business and pure economics, the focus will be on the fields of computing as well as relevant economic aspects of mathematics, statistics and law.

The main period of study is dedicated to gaining an in-depth and specialised understanding of economics. Most credits are obtained in (compulsory and compulsory elective) units of pure economics. These units comprise important areas of economics such as economic policy, finance, applied economic research, and monetary or labour economics. Since the main focus of economics in Göttingen is on international economic relations, many of the units offered are based on topics central to European and international economics.

Other units included in the programme are units of business studies. Students may also opt for units of particular personal or vocational interest to obtain credits in the interdisciplinary part of the programme (e.g. courses in the field of quantitative methods, economic and social history or business psychology). Finally, students have to prove very good English skills (for example by taking classes in Business English).

During the first week of the summer and winter semesters, you will be supervised by older students, the WiWi-O-Phase tutors. In addition to the first lectures, you will get to know important learning management and examination administration systems as well as examination and study regulations of the degree programmes. You will learn how to do your semester schedule and you can even talk to the professors of the faculty at the professors' breakfast. You will get to know each other at city rallies and pub evenings. Even before lectures begin, you can (voluntarily) take part in the maths pre-course (MVK), in which selected content from school mathematics is repeated and preparation is made for the mathematics module in the 1st semester. The student council of the Faculty of Business and Economics organizes the "social events programme" during the maths pre-course with pub nights as well as campus and city tours.

During the Corona pandemic, the students of the WiWi-O-Phase and the student council of the Faculty of Business and Economics organized digital or "hybrid" orientation weeks with a virtual tandem programme, digital games and get-to-know-you evenings, but also with meetings in small groups on campus as well as city and campus tours in small groups on site in Göttingen.

A fundamental education about essential economic interdependences and about international economic relations are good stepping stones both career-wise and for furthering your studies at the graduate level. The University of Göttingen offers excellent conditions for meeting the new requirements of a modern education in economics.

A special feature of studying economics in Göttingen is the strong international focus: in both research and teaching, the main focus is the analysis of international relationships, the special conditions of EU member countries, regional economic issues, as well as empirical and experimental economics research. The University of Göttingen also has Germany's largest focus and field in the area of development economics research. The programmes are also international: an increasing number of courses in economics are offered in English.

International guest lecturers often contribute to the English language offerings with regular lectures on international economics. In addition, the Faculty offers partnerships with renowned universities in Europe, China, Japan, South Korea, South Africa, Latin America, Australia, Indonesia, and the US, so that it is possible to participate in a semester abroad during your bachelor's studies.

If you decide to study economics, you should be interested in general economic issues and have a good or advanced background in mathematics and English. German skills are mandatory.

The internationalisation of economies, together with an increasingly transnational segmentation of the value chain, has led to an ever-growing international interdependence of companies; the demand for a labour force that thinks and acts global has never been so high. A sound knowledge of the economic coherences within an economy, of companies' decision-making bases, of how household and state interact, and of the advantages of the growing international integration as well as skills in quantitative methods and Business English are key competencies for a successful entry into professional life in various fields, or lay the foundations for a career in academia. Get to know the different professional fields of our graduates in the alumni portraits (in German).

Thanks to the university's international focus, bachelor alumni may choose from various kinds of occupations, such as:

  • in national and international companies and consultancies,
  • in banks and insurance companies,
  • and in private as well as public organisations.

The bachelor degree also offers the possibility to continue studies in a master's programme either at home or abroad. In Göttingen, for example, a bachelor graduate with a good grade may apply for the four-semester long master's programmes in International Economics (German/ English skills required), in Development Economics (English-language programme), in Applied Statistics (German/English skills required) or in History of Global Markets (German/English skills required).

Applicants interested in the MSc in International Economics or the MSc in Development Economics have also the option to apply for a two-year-English-language double degree programme in cooperation with the University of Groningen, the Netherlands (International Economics) and in cooperation with the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa, the University of Florence, Italy, and the University of Clermont Auvergne, France (Development Economics), respectively.

Related and Consecutive/Graduate Programmes


Programme structure

The programme is fully structured, meaning that credit requirements are set. The degree is successfully completed when 180 credits are earned. The bachelor's programme in economics is organized in two parts, the orientation phase (first and second semesters) and a specialization phase (the third through sixth semesters).

During the orientation phase you will develop skills in fundamental questions and answers to economic sciences as well as to some important and related disciplines. In addition to knowledge in business and economics, you will learn, for example, about relevant mathematical and statistical methods. The required courses help you develop the technical and methodological basis in order to specialize in economics during your bachelor's studies.

The second part of the programme is the specialization phase. The courses in economics covers economic policy, public finance, empirical economic research, and monetary theory or labour economics. A particular focus of economics in Göttingen is international economic relations. As part of the programme, there are also several electives that you can chose from the subject of business administration and economics. In an interdisciplinary part, you can pick from courses in other areas based on your own interests and career goals. In addition, by completing Business English courses, you will acquire in-depth language skills, which are an important key competence for your future career entry. More detailed information about the structure of the bachelor's programme you will find on the according websites of the Faculty of Business and Economics.

Begin of Studies

Studienverlauf-Bachelor-VWL-neu-BeginnWiSe_ENG

Module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter and summer semester
1st subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)

EU
Citizen from an EU country (including Germany and EEA) or holding a German university entrance qualification

Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Impressions

Study Economics in Göttingen

Business Administration, Economics, Business and Human Resource Education, Business Information Systems und Economics in combination with a second subject - the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Göttingen offers a wide range of courses with five Bachelor's and twelve Master's programmes. In the film (in German), students from the faculty report on their everyday studies and tell why it is worth studying in Göttingen.

WiWi-Video-Poster-Ann-Kathrin

Study Economics in Göttingen

Ann-Catrin came to Göttingen for her bachelor's degree in economics - and stayed. She is currently studying for a Master's degree in International Economics. In the video (in German), she explains how she decided to study economics in Göttingen and what she likes so much about Göttingen as a student city.

WiWi-Video-Poster-Patrick

In the beginning just take a look at everything

Good ranking results and personal recommendations brought Pascal to Göttingen. In the video (in German) he tells us what he likes about studying economics and reveals his tips for first-year students.

Websites of the Faculty of Business and Economics for international students

Learn more about our offers for international exchange and degree seeking students.

more...

Göttingen City


Our Campus


Your studies


Contact

Websites of the Faculty of Business and Economics

Programme homepage

Student Advisors of the Faculty of Business and Economics

Georg-August-Universität
Service Centre for Students
Faculty of Business and Economics

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
DE-37073 Göttingen

Oeconomicum, 1st Floor
Room: Oec 1.135

Phone: + 49 (0)551 39 28800
Fax: + 49 (0)551 39 9741

studienberatung@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

In publica commoda

Volkswirtschaftslehre (VWL) (B.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Die Volkswirtschaftslehre (VWL) befasst sich mit gesamtwirtschaftlichen Vorgängen. Dabei analysiert sie u. a. die Voraussetzungen von Wirtschaftswachstum, die Ursachen von Arbeitslosigkeit, die Bestimmungsfaktoren der Preisentwicklung sowie Ziele und Auswirkungen staatlicher Aktivität. In einer Marktwirtschaft geht es dabei ganz wesentlich um die Funktionsweise von Märkten, aber auch um die Bedingungen, unter denen es zum Marktversagen kommt und staatliche Eingriffe gefordert sind. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sich die Volkswirtschaftslehre mit den Wirtschaftsbeziehungen zwischen Staaten.

Im Bachelorstudiengang Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät können Studierende neben einer fundierten Grundlagenausbildung in Volks- und Betriebswirtschaftslehre sowie empirischen Methoden fachliche Schwerpunkte in einer Vielzahl von Bereichen wie zum Beispiel Internationaler Handel und Produktion, Entwicklungsökonomik, Verhaltensökonomik oder Quantitative Methoden setzen. Englischsprachige Lehrveranstaltungen (u.a. von Gastdozent*innen), Kurse in Business Englisch und die Möglichkeit eines Auslandssemesters runden die internationale Ausbildung ab.

Name:
Volkswirtschaftslehre
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch und Englisch
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Winter- und Sommersemester
Zulassung:
Zulassungsbeschränkt
(Bewerbung bei der Universität)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten
Vorkurs:
Es wird ein Vorkurs angeboten angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fachspezifisch Studentenwerk Z-Mensa Gruppe 720px

Virtueller Rundgang

Campusführung mit Studierenden

Fachspezifisch Karte-A-Z-Testimonials-WiWi-Bachelor

WiWi studieren

Unsere Studierenden erzählen

Fächerübergreifend Campusführungen

Campusführungen

Mit Studierenden unterwegs


Inhalte

Der Bachelorstudiengang Volkswirtschaftslehre vermittelt Ihnen das fachliche und methodische Wissen, um die zunehmende internationale Verflechtung der Volkswirtschaften analysieren und die Grundlagen wirtschaftspolitischer Entscheidungen von Regierungen und internationalen Organisationen nachvollziehen zu können.

Globalisierung bedeutet für die Volkswirtschaften eine zunehmende Konkurrenz auf den Weltmärkten. Traditionell starke Exportnationen wie Deutschland sehen sich wachsenden Herausforderungen an ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit gegenüber. Die Produktion vieler Güter erfolgt nicht mehr vollständig an einem Ort, sondern ihre Einzelbestandteile werden in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt produziert und an anderen Orten zusammengefügt. Die Volkswirtschaften der einzelnen Länder sind dadurch viel enger verflochten. Daraus resultieren Herausforderungen, wie zum Beispiel das Schaffen von Regeln für den weltweiten Handel mit Gütern oder Finanzdienstleistungen, die gemeinsam von nationalen und internationalen Akteur*innen der Wirtschaft gelöst werden müssen.

Für diese neuen Herausforderungen suchen Unternehmen, Verbände, staatliche Einrichtungen und internationale Organisationen Fachkräfte, die die Komplexität der modernen Volkswirtschaften verstehen und darauf aufbauend Entscheidungen treffen können.

In der ersten Semesterwoche der Sommer- und Wintersemester werden Sie von älteren Studierenden, den Tutor*innen der WiWi-O-Phase, betreut. Neben den ersten Vorlesungen lernen Sie vor allem wichtige Lernmanagement- und Prüfungsverwaltungssysteme kennen, bekommen Informationen zur Stundenplangestaltung, zu den Prüfungs- und Studienordnungen der Studiengänge und können sogar mit den Professor*innen der Fakultät beim Professoren-Frühstück sprechen. Bei Stadtrallye und Kneipenabenden lernen Sie sich gegenseitig kennen. Schon vor Vorlesungsbeginn können Sie (freiwillig) am Mathe-Vorkurs (MVK) teilnehmen, in dem ausgewählte Inhalte aus der Schulmathematik wiederholt werden und auf das Mathematik-Modul im 1. Semester vorbereitet wird. Die WiWi-Fachschaft organisiert das "soziale Rahmenprogramm" mit Kneipenabenden sowie Campus- und Stadtführungen.

Während der Corona-Pandemie haben die Studierenden der WiWi-O-Phase und der Fachschaft der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät digitale bzw. "hybride" Orientierungswochen organisiert mit einem virtuellem Tandem-Programm, digitalen Spiele- und Kennenlernabenden, aber auch mit Treffen in kleinen Gruppen auf dem Campus sowie Stadt- und Campusführungen in kleinen Gruppen vor Ort in Göttingen.

Eine fundierte Grundlagenausbildung über die wesentlichen ökonomischen Wirkungszusammenhänge innerhalb einer Volkswirtschaft und über die internationalen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen sind eine gute Basis für einen erfolgreichen Berufseinstieg oder ein anschließendes Masterstudium. Die Universität Göttingen bietet die besten Voraussetzungen, den neuen Anforderungen an eine moderne volkswirtschaftliche Ausbildung gerecht zu werden.

Ein besonderes Merkmal der Volkswirtschaftslehre in Göttingen ist ihre starke internationale Orientierung: In Forschung und Lehre liegen die Schwerpunkte zum Beispiel auf der Analyse internationaler Wirtschaftsbeziehungen, regionalökonomischer Fragestellungen sowie der empirischen und experimentellen Wirtschaftsforschung. Die Universität Göttingen hat zudem den deutschlandweit größten Schwerpunkt im Bereich der ökonomischen Entwicklungsländerforschung.

International ist auch das Studium: Ein zunehmender Anteil der volkswirtschaftlichen Lehrveranstaltungen wird in englischer Sprache angeboten. Zu dem englischsprachigen Kursangebot tragen regelmäßig ausländische Gastdozent*innen mit Lehrveranstaltungen zu internationalen Wirtschaftsthemen bei. Zudem bieten Partnerschaften mit renommierten Universitäten u.a. in Europa, Thailand, Lateinamerika, Indonesien und den USA vielfältige Möglichkeiten für ein Auslandssemester bereits im Bachelorstudium.

Wenn Sie sich für das Studienfach Volkswirtschaftslehre entscheiden, sollten Sie Interesse an gesamtwirtschaftlichen Problemstellungen und gute oder ausbaufähige Kenntnisse in Mathematik und Englisch mitbringen.

Die beruflichen Perspektiven von Absolvent*innen des Bachelorstudiengangs sind insbesondere wegen des in Göttingen existierenden außenwirtschaftlichen Schwerpunkts vielfältig. Absolvent*innen erwerben grundlegendes methodisches und fachliches Wissen, das gemeinsam mit der erworbenen Sprachkompetenz in Wirtschaftsenglisch die Grundlage für einen erfolgreichen Berufseinstieg in verschiedenen Branchen und Unternehmensabteilungen, bei Verbänden, Kammern und staatlichen Einrichtungen sowie bei internationalen Organisationen oder multinationalen Unternehmen ist. Lernen Sie die unterschiedlichen Berufsfelder unserer Absolvent*innen in den Alumni-Porträts kennen.

Mit dem Bachelorabschluss können Sie im In- und Ausland ein weiterführendes Masterstudium anschließen. Die Universität Göttingen bietet im Anschluss an den Bachelorstudiengang Volkswirtschaftslehre die Masterstudiengänge International Economics (deutsch/englisch) und Development Economics (englisch) sowie Angewandte Statistik (deutsch/englisch) und History of Global Markets (deutsch/englisch) an.

Bei einer Bewerbung für die Studiengänge International Economics und Development Economics besteht zudem die Möglichkeit, sich für ein Doppelabschlussprogramm zu bewerben. Im Rahmen eines Doppelabschlussprogramms erwerben Sie in vier Semestern ihren Masterabschluss in Göttingen und den entsprechenden Masterabschluss der Partneruniversität. Im Studiengang International Economics kooperiert die Fakultät mit der Universität Groningen in den Niederlanden. Im Studiengang Development Economics mit der Universität Stellenbosch in Südafrika, der Universität Florenz in Italien und der Universität Clermont Auvergne in Clermont-Ferrand, Frankreich.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Wie ist der Studiengang aufgebaut?

Der Studiengang ist vollständig modularisiert, das heißt, es werden während des Studiums Anrechnungspunkte (Credits) erworben. Das Studium ist erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wenn 180 Credits erreicht wurden. Der Bachelorstudiengang in Volkswirtschaftslehre gliedert sich in die Orientierungsphase (1. und 2. Semester) und die Vertiefungs- und Spezialisierungsphase (3. bis 6. Semester).

In der Orientierungsphase erlangen Sie Kenntnisse über die grundlegenden Problemstellungen und Lösungsansätze der Wirtschaftswissenschaften sowie einiger wichtiger Nachbardisziplinen. Neben Kenntnissen in Betriebs- und Volkswirtschaftslehre erwerben Sie z.B. Kenntnisse in relevanten mathematischen und statistischen Methoden. Diese Pflichtmodule bilden die fachliche und methodische Grundlage für die Spezialisierung im volkswirtschaftlichen Bachelorstudium.

Der zweite Studienabschnitt dient der Vertiefung und Spezialisierung im Studium. Die volkswirtschaftlichen Module umfassen Bereiche wie Wirtschaftspolitik, Finanzwissenschaft, empirische Wirtschaftsforschung, Währungstheorie oder Arbeitsmarktökonomik. Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt der Volkswirtschaftslehre in Göttingen bilden die internationalen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen. Zum Studienprogramm gehören darüber hinaus einige frei wählbare Module aus der Volks- und Betriebswirtschaftslehre. In einem interdisziplinären Teil wählen Sie schließlich Module aus anderen Gebieten nach eigenen Interessen und beruflichen Vorstellungen aus. Darüber hinaus erwerben Sie durch die Absolvierung von Business English-Kursen vertiefte Sprachkenntnisse, die eine wichtige Schlüsselkompetenz für Ihren späteren Berufseinstieg darstellen. Ausführliche Informationen zum Aufbau des Studiengangs und angebotener Module/Lehrveranstaltungen finden Sie auf der Studiengang-Webseite der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Studienbeginn

StudienverlaufsplanBachelorVWLneu_BeginnWiSe_DE

Modulverzeichnis

Ordnungen


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
Winter- und Sommersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)

EU
Staatsbürger*in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer*in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger*in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger*in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose*r) oder Absolvent*in eines Studienkollegs


Einblicke

Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Göttingen studieren

BWL, VWL, Wirtschaftspädagogik, Wirtschaftsinformatik und VWL in Kombination mit einem zweiten Studienfach – mit fünf Bachelorstudiengängen und zwölf Masterstudiengängen bietet die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Uni Göttingen ein breites Studienangebot. Im Film berichten Studierende der Fakultät aus ihrem Studienalltag und erzählen, warum es sich lohnt, in Göttingen zu studieren.

WiWi-Video-Poster-Ann-Kathrin

Volkswirtschaftslehre in Göttingen studieren

Ann-Catrin kam zum VWL-Bachelorstudium nach Göttingen – und ist geblieben. Sie studiert gerade im Masterstudiengang International Economics. Wie es zu ihrer Entscheidung für VWL in Göttingen kam und was ihr an Göttingen als Studierendenstadt so gut gefällt erzählt sie im Video.

WiWi-Video-Poster-Patrick

Am Anfang einfach mal in Alles reinschnuppern

Gute Rankingergebnisse und persönliche Empfehlungen brachten Pascal nach Göttingen. Im Video erzählt er, was ihm am VWL-Studium gefällt und verrät seine Tipps für Studienanfänger*innen.

Webseiten der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät für Studieninteressierte

Erfahren Sie mehr über die WiWi-Studiengänge, Ihre Studienmöglichkeiten im Ausland, das Leben in Göttingen als klassischer Studierendenstadt und die Berufsaussichten für Wirtschaftswissenschaftler*innen.

mehr...

Stadt Göttingen


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Webseiten der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät

Homepage des Studienfachs





Studienberatung der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät

Georg-August-Universität
Service-Center für Studierende
Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Studienberatung

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen

Oeconomicum, 1. Obergeschoss
Raum 1.135

Tel.: + 49 (0)551 39 28800
Fax: + 49 (0)551 39 9741
(z.Hd. Studienberatung)

studienberatung@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de