In publica commoda

German Studies (B.A.) (2 subjects)

Features

"Ein Buch muß die Axt sein für das gefrorene Meer in uns." (Kafka) - Language and literature shape our reality. The analysis of these elementary human media of expression is at the centre of teaching and research in Göttingen German Studies. As a full German Studies department, it represents the entire spectrum of linguistic and literary approaches. We bring modern methods of digital humanities into dialogue with cultural studies approaches and directly shape current research with numerous projects.

Join us and become a professional in language and text competence!

Programme:
German Studies
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
open
(enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered
Pre-course:
Pre-courses are offered

Get to know us

Programme specific Banner

Litlog

eMagazine by students

Cross-programme Studierende auf dem Campus, darunter der Schriftzug Infotage Uni Göttingen, Entdecke deine Möglichkeiten, finde dein Studium. Sowei der Hinweis Neu, 12. März Science Slam
11/12
MAR

Information days

for prospective students


Details

About 130 million people speak German as their first or second language. For them, language is a living medium of everyday communication, but also a means of expression for diverse literary texts. How is language used in a communicative context to achieve goals of action? Is there a particular aesthetic of literary texts? To what extent are the structures as well as the use of a language and the type of literature time-specific and determined by the respective media environment? How have language and (literary) culture changed over the centuries? With a degree in German Studies, you can acquire expertise in these questions and thus gain a differentiated view of today's German language and literature in a historical context.

Göttingen German Studies is characterised by diverse research foci, which are also reflected in the courses offered: the spectrum ranges from language history to psycholinguistics, from historical aesthetics to pop literature, from media history to the digital humanities - and this is not an exhaustive list!

So: In Göttingen you can study the subject in all its facets. The subject-related study programme is divided into three areas:

  • Germanic Linguistics: deals with structures and the use of today's German and its historical precursors, as well as with the cognitive foundations of language.
  • Germanistic Medieval Studies: deals with the entire German-language textual tradition of the period from the 9th to the 16th century and its specific medial and cultural conditions.
  • Literary Studies (Modern German Literature): deals with the German-language literatures from the Baroque to the present, furthermore with the mediation of literature, literary theory, subject history and edition philology.

The B.A. programme offers you the chance to acquire basic competences in all three sub-areas and to develop your own questions on this basis. The seminar library with its extensive holdings, the collection of historical children's and youth literature and the linguistic laboratories (on sign language, among other things) offer excellent conditions for your own initial discoveries in research. Comprehensive study counselling, a grammatical propaedeutic course and tutorials make your start easier.

The subject studies in Göttingen offer you a broad basis (language and literature, historical and systematic) for individual interest formation. In the specialisation area of the subject studies and in the Bachelor's thesis, you can set your own focus in the areas of linguistics, mediaeval studies or newer German literature. In the professionalisation area, choose one of the following profile lines:

  • The 'Fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung' prepares you for an academic activity and qualifies you in particular to successfully study a Master's programme in-depth in the subject area.
  • The 'Professional field-related qualification' is designed to enable you, as flexible generalists with a solid basic subject-related qualification, to successfully take up a non-university professional activity.
  • The 'Studium Generale' enables you to design your Bachelor's degree in a strongly interdisciplinary way, even without a close orientation to subject boundaries, and to orient it towards your own subject-specific and professional goals.

For all three profiles, the broad key competencies offered by the University of Göttingen are at your disposal. In addition to taking individual courses, you can earn a wide variety of certificates here, including ,German Sign Language', Digital Humanities', Experimental Linguistics ,Theatre Practice' or the ,Additional Qualification Interculturality and Multilingualism / German as a Foreign and Second Language (ZIMD)'.

In any case, you should have a keen interest in intensively studying literary works, the structure as well as the use of language(s) and making classifications in the respective cultural, social and historical contexts. For the degree programme, you not only need a certain 'reading mania', but also the willingness to think your way into the theories and methods of the subject, which range from literary theory and aesthetics as well as formal theories of language analysis to cultural studies and media-historical approaches and experimental procedures of language and literature analysis. A very good knowledge of the German language, both spoken and written (native or near-native), is indispensable for the study of German Studies. A good knowledge of English is helpful.

... you have many options. The B.A. programme provides you with the prerequisites for a subsequent academic Master's degree. In Göttingen, for example, you can continue studying German studies in all its dimensions with the Master's German Studies/German Philology, or you specialise in linguistics (Linguistics) or literary studies (Comparative Studies or Medieval and Renaissance Studies or New German Literature) with interdisciplinary perspectives. You can also use the knowledge and skills you have acquired to start a career in fields for which the competent use of German language and literature is central. This is not only the case in the media and cultural sector in the narrower sense (e.g. at literary houses, theatres or publishing houses), but also where it is a matter of grasping texts analytically and formulating them accurately (for example in the field of public relations).

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Tina Seufer and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Academic Advising

Dr. Markus Tönjes
Department of German Studies

Käte-Hamburger Weg 3
37073 Göttingen

markus.toenjes@uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Germanistik - Deutsche Philologie (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Steckbrief

„Ein Buch muß die Axt sein für das gefrorene Meer in uns.“ (Kafka) – Sprache und Literatur prägen unsere Wirklichkeit. Die Analyse dieser elementaren menschlichen Ausdrucksmedien steht im Zentrum von Lehre und Forschung der Göttinger Germanistik. Als Vollgermanistik bildet sie das gesamte Spektrum linguistischer und literaturwissenschaftlicher Zugänge ab. Wir bringen moderne Methoden der Digital Humanities mit kulturwissenschaftlichen Zugängen in Dialog und gestalten mit zahlreichen Projekten die aktuelle Forschung unmittelbar mit.

Kommen Sie zu uns und werden Sie Profi in Sprach- und Textkompetenz!

Name des Studienfachs:
Germanistik - Deutsche Philologie
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Es werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Etwa 130 Millionen Menschen sprechen Deutsch als ihre Erst- oder Zweitsprache. Die Sprache ist für sie ein lebendiges Medium der Alltagskommunikation, aber auch Ausdrucksmittel vielfältiger literarischer Texte. Wie wird Sprache im kommunikativen Kontext verwendet, um Handlungsziele zu erreichen? Gibt es eine besondere Ästhetik literarischer Texte? Inwiefern sind die Strukturen wie auch die Verwendung einer Sprache und die Art der Literatur zeitspezifisch und durch das jeweilige mediale Umfeld bestimmt? Wie haben sich Sprache und (literarische) Kultur über die Jahrhunderte verändert? Mit einem Germanistikstudium können Sie Expertise in diesen Fragen erwerben und so einen differenzierten Blick auf die heutige deutsche Sprache und Literatur im historischen Kontext gewinnen.

Die Göttinger Germanistik zeichnet sich durch vielfältige Forschungsschwerpunkte aus, die sich auch im Lehrangebot wiederfinden: das Spektrum reicht von Sprachgeschichte bis Psycholinguistik, von historischer Ästhetik bis Popliteratur, von Mediengeschichte bis zu den Digital Humanities – und das ist keine vollständige Liste!

Also: In Göttingen können Sie das Fach in all seinen Facetten studieren. Das fachwissenschaftliche Studium ist in drei Bereiche gegliedert:

  • Germanistische Linguistik: befasst sich mit Strukturen und dem Gebrauch des heutigen Deutsch und seiner historischen Vorstufen sowie mit den kognitiven Grundlagen von Sprache.
  • Germanistische Mediävistik: befasst sich mit der gesamten deutschsprachigen Textüberlieferung der Zeit vom 9. bis zum 16. Jahrhundert und deren spezifischen medialen und kulturellen Bedingungen.
  • Literaturwissenschaft (Neuere deutsche Literatur): befasst sich mit den deutschsprachigen Literaturen vom Barock bis in die Gegenwart, darüber hinaus mit der Vermittlung von Literatur, der Literaturtheorie, der Fachgeschichte und der Editionsphilologie.

Das B.A.-Studium bietet Ihnen die Chance, in allen drei Teilbereichen grundlegende Kompetenzen zu erwerben und auf dieser Basis eigene Fragestellungen zu entwickeln. Die Seminarbibliothek mit ihren umfangreichen Beständen, die Sammlung historischer Kinder- und Jugendliteratur und die linguistischen Labore (u.a. zur Gebärdensprache) bieten hervorragende Bedingungen für erste eigene Entdeckungen in der Forschung. Eine umfassende Studienberatung, ein grammatisches Propädeutikum und Tutorien erleichtern Ihnen den Einstieg.

Das Fachstudium in Göttingen bietet Ihnen eine breite Basis (Sprache und Literatur, historisch und systematisch) für individuelle Interessensbildungen. Im Vertiefungsbereich des Fachstudiums und in der Bachelorarbeit können Sie eigene Schwerpunkte in den Bereichen Linguistik, Mediävistik oder Neuere deutsche Literatur setzen. Im Professionalisierungsbereich wählen Sie eine der folgenden Profillinien:

  • Die ,Fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung‘ bereitet auf eine wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit vor und qualifiziert besonders dazu, einen fachwissenschaftlich vertiefenden Masterstudiengang erfolgreich zu studieren.
  • Die ,Berufsfeldbezogene Qualifikation‘ ist darauf ausgerichtet, dass Sie als flexible Generalisten*innen mit solider fachlicher Basisqualifikation erfolgreich eine außeruniversitäre Berufstätigkeit aufnehmen können.
  • Das ,Studium Generale‘ ermöglicht es Ihnen, Ihr Bachelorstudium auch ohne enge Orientierung an Fachgrenzen stark interdisziplinär zu gestalten und auf eigene fachwissenschaftliche und berufliche Ziele hin auszurichten.

Bei allen drei Profilen steht Ihnen das breite Schlüsselkompetenzangebot der Universität Göttingen zur Verfügung. Neben der Belegung einzelner Kurse können Sie hier vielfältige Zertifikate erwerben, unter anderem ,Deutsche Gebärdensprache‘, ,Digital Humanities‘, Experimentelle Linguistik, ,Theaterpraxis‘ oder die ,Zusatzqualifikation Interkulturalität und Mehrsprachigkeit / Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache (ZIMD)‘.

Auf jeden Fall sollten Sie ein großes Interesse daran haben, sich mit literarischen Werken, der Struktur wie auch dem Gebrauch von Sprache(n) intensiv auseinanderzusetzen und Einordnungen in die jeweiligen kulturellen, sozialen und historischen Zusammenhänge vorzunehmen. Für das Studium benötigen Sie nicht nur eine gewisse ,Lesewut‘, sondern auch die Bereitschaft, sich in Theorien und Methoden des Fachs hineinzudenken, die von Literaturtheorie und Ästhetik wie auch formalen Theorien der Sprachanalyse über kulturwissenschaftliche und medienhistorische Ansätze und bis hin zu experimentellen Verfahren der Sprach- und Literaturanalyse reichen. Eine sehr gute Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache in Wort und Schrift (muttersprachlich oder muttersprachnah) ist für das Studium der Germanistik unabdingbar. Gute Kenntnisse des Englischen sind hilfreich.

... haben Sie viele Möglichkeiten. Der B.A.-Studiengang vermittelt Ihnen die Voraussetzungen für ein anschließendes wissenschaftliches Masterstudium. In Göttingen können Sie zum Beispiel das Studium der Germanistik in all ihren Dimensionen mit dem Master Germanistik/Deutsche Philologie fortsetzen, oder Sie spezialisieren sich in der Linguistik (Linguistics) oder Literaturwissenschaft (Komparatistik oder Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien oder Neuere Deutsche Literatur) mit interdisziplinären Perspektiven. Die erworbenen Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen können Sie außerdem für einen Berufseinstieg in Bereichen nutzen, für die der kompetente Umgang mit der deutschen Sprache und Literatur zentral ist. Das ist nicht nur im Medien- und Kulturbereich im engeren Sinne der Fall (z.B. bei Literaturhäusern, Theatern oder Verlagen), sondern auch dort, wo es darum geht, Texte analytisch zu erfassen und treffend zu formulieren (etwa im Bereich der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit).

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Professionalisierungsbereich

Optionalbereich Schlüsselkompetenzen

Studienabschluss

Bachelorarbeit

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Unsere Teilfächer

Die Fachbereiche des Studiengangs stellen sich vor.

Literaturwissenschaft

Mediävistik

Fachdidaktik

Linguistik

Musik: Walking on Air von FRAMETRAXX


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. Markus Tönjes
Seminar für Deutsche Philologie

Käte-Hamburger Weg 3
37073 Göttingen

markus.toenjes@uni-goettingen.de

Homepage