In publica commoda

New German Literature. History – Theory – Mediation (M.A.)

Features

Are you interested in German literature and want to deepen the historical, theoretical and practical knowledge you acquired in your Bachelor's degree? Then the Master's programme "Modern German Literature" in Göttingen is the right choice for you. It focuses on the historical development of literature, its theoretical foundations and its mediation in the present and offers you the opportunity to set your own focal points in your study programme.

Name:
New German Literature. History – Theory - Mediation
Degree:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Options:
Part-time studies
Language of the programme:
German
Standard period of study:
4 Semester
Start of studies:
summer and winter semester
Admission:
Restricted (Application to the faculty)

Get to know us


Details

The subject of the degree programme is Modern German Literature from the Baroque to the present. Students acquire and deepen fundamental literary-scientific competences in three fields of work: in literary history, literary theory and the practical teaching of literature. They can specialise in this degree programme according to their interests and develop their own subject-specific profile.

The subject "Literary Studies / Modern German Literature" is particularly broadly positioned in Göttingen. Its research foci are reflected in the Master's programme and enable students to gain insights into current academic projects. The programme combines literary-historical with theoretical-systematic questions and relates these to the requirements of the practice and mediation of literature. With its pillars "History of Literature", "Basic Research in Literary Studies" and "Teaching Literature", it combines three central areas of knowledge and competence:

In the study focus on literary history, students acquire a well-founded overview of the development of German-language literature from the 17th century to the present. They deepen their knowledge of the procedures and poetic prerequisites of the literary texts, get to know further literary-historical contexts and intertextual references and deal with the historical and social, discursive, media and knowledge-historical conditions under which the texts are created and their consequences.

In the basic focus, students acquire extensive knowledge of the relevant theories and methods. The spectrum ranges from the traditions of rhetoric, poetics and aesthetics to more recent and newest theories of literature, culture and media studies as well as methods of digital humanities. In doing so, students also reflect on the scientific-theoretical and methodological foundations of the subject.

In the study focus on literature mediation, students deal theoretically and practically with literature and literary studies in the contexts of their respective mediation. They acquire basic skills and learn to apply specialised knowledge in different areas of activity in literature mediation (e.g. in publishing houses, literature houses and archives) and to reflect on the specific conditions of practice. The focus is on application-related literary studies work as well as aspects of the mediality or mediatedness of literature.

The Master's degree "Modern German Literature. History - Theory - Mediation" prepares you for jobs in science-related and literature mediating professional fields, e.g. in science and culture management, in publishing houses, libraries and media institutions as well as in public relations work of various institutions and in adult education. In addition, it opens up the possibility of further academic qualification, especially in the context of a doctorate.

Related and consecutive programmes

Consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

This degree programme can be studied in 3 different profiles.

  • Single Honours MA totalling 78 credits (Mono-master)
  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with one module package (minor) totalling 36 credits
  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with two module packages (minors) totalling 18 credits each

You can apply for one study profile.

4. Semester

Master’s thesis

Regulations and module directory


Application

Previous studies

  • B.A. degree or comparable degree
  • at least 150 ECTS at the time of application
  • Subject relevance:

    Achievements in a German Studies degree programme or in a degree programme with a focus on the mediation of literature or in a media or cultural studies degree programme that provides knowledge of Modern German Literature and literary theory.

    • for Single (78 credits) and Joint Honours (42 credits):
      • to the extent of at least 49 ECTS, including
      • achievements in literary studies (Modern German Literature) amounting to at least 18 ECTS each.
    • for the module package of 36 credits:
      • to the extent of at least six semesters of study in a German Studies or Literary Studies programme comparable to the requirements of the German Studies programme in Göttingen.
    • for the module package of 18 credits:
      • to an extent adequate to a three-semester German Studies programme or a related subject in Göttingen.

Language requirements

  • If your mother tongue is not German, you must prove sufficient knowledge of the German language at DSH-2 level .

Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Questions on the programme

Dr. Jan Borkowski

Department of German Philology
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
D-37073 Göttingen
Room 1.232

Phone: +49-551 39 7516
Fax: +49-551 39 7511

jan.borkowski@phil.uni-goettingen.de


Prof. Dr. Simone Winko

Department of German Philology
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
D-37073 Göttingen
Room: 1.233

Phone: +49-551 39 7518
Fax: +49-551 39 19556

simone.winko@phil.uni-goettingen.de


Dr. Markus Tönjes

Department of German Philology
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
D-37073 Göttingen
Room: 0.222

Phone: +49-551 39 22247
Fax: +49-551 39 7511

markus.toenjes@uni-goettingen.de

Questions regarding applications

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1st floor)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Neuere Deutsche Literatur (M.A.)

Steckbrief

Sie interessieren sich für deutschsprachige Literatur und wollen Ihre im Bachelorstudium erworbenen historischen, theoretischen und praktischen Kenntnisse vertiefen? Dann sind Sie im Göttinger Masterstudiengang „Neuere Deutsche Literatur“ richtig. Er konzentriert sich auf die geschichtliche Entwicklung der Literatur, auf ihre theoretischen Grundlagen und ihre Vermittlung in der Gegenwart und bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, eigene Schwerpunkte in Ihrem Studienprogramm zu setzen.

Name:
Neuere Deutsche Literatur
Abschluss:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Optionen:
Teilzeitstudium
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Sommersemester- und Wintersemester
Zulassung:
Bewerbung bei der Fakultät

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Gegenstand des Studiums ist die Neuere Deutsche Literatur vom Barock bis zur Gegenwart. Studierende erwerben und vertiefen grundlegende literaturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen in drei Arbeitsfeldern: in der Literaturgeschichte, der Literaturtheorie und der praktischen Vermittlung von Literatur. Sie können sich in diesem Studiengang nach ihren Interessen spezialisieren und ein eigenes fachwissenschaftliches Profil ausbilden.

Das Fach „Literaturwissenschaft / Neuere Deutsche Literatur“ ist in Göttingen besonders breit aufgestellt. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte werden im Masterstudium abgebildet und ermöglichen den Studierenden Einblicke in aktuelle wissenschaftliche Projekte. Das Studium verknüpft literaturgeschichtliche mit theoretisch-systematischen Fragestellungen und bezieht diese auf Anforderungen der Praxis und Vermittlung von Literatur. Mit seinen Säulen "Literaturgeschichte", "Literaturwissenschaftliche Grundlagenforschung" und "Literaturvermittlung" verbindet es drei zentrale Kenntnis- bzw. Kompetenzbereiche miteinander:

Im literaturgeschichtlichen Schwerpunkt erwerben die Studierenden einen fundierten Überblick über die Entwicklung der deutschsprachigen Literatur vom 17. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. Sie vertiefen ihre Kenntnisse der Verfahren und poetologischen Voraussetzungen der literarischen Texte, lernen weitere literarhistorische Kontexte und intertextuelle Bezüge kennen und befassen sich mit den historischen und sozialen, diskursiven, medien- und wissensgeschichtlichen Bedingungen, unter denen die Texte entstehen, und deren Folgen.

Im Grundlagen-Schwerpunkt eignen sich die Studierenden umfangreiche Kenntnisse der relevanten Theorien und Methoden an. Das Spektrum reicht von den Traditionen der Rhetorik, Poetik und Ästhetik bis hin zu neueren und neuesten literatur-, kultur- und medienwissenschaftlichen Theorien sowie Verfahren der Digital Humanities. Dabei reflektieren die Studierenden auch wissenschaftstheoretische und methodologische Grundlagen des Faches.

Im Fokus Literaturvermittlung setzen sich die Studierenden theoretisch und praktisch mit Literatur und Literaturwissenschaft in den Zusammenhängen ihrer jeweiligen Vermittlung auseinander. Sie erwerben grundlegende Fähigkeiten und lernen, Fachwissen in unterschiedlichen literaturvermittelnden Tätigkeitsbereichen anzuwenden (z.B. in Verlagen, Literaturhäusern und -archiven) sowie unter den spezifischen Bedingungen der Praxis zu reflektieren. Dabei stehen anwendungsbezogenes literaturwissenschaftliches Arbeiten sowie Aspekte der Medialität bzw. Vermitteltheit von Literatur im Mittelpunkt.

Der Masterabschluss „Neuere Deutsche Literatur. Geschichte – Grundlagen – Vermittlung“ bereitet Sie auf Tätigkeiten in wissenschaftsnahen und literaturvermittelnden Berufsfeldern vor, z.B. im Wissenschafts- und Kulturmanagement, in Verlagen, Bibliotheken und Medieninstitutionen sowie in der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit verschiedenster Einrichtungen und in der Erwachsenenbildung. Darüber hinaus eröffnet er Ihnen die Möglichkeit einer weiteren wissenschaftlichen Qualifikation, vor allem im Rahmen einer Promotion.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Studiengang lässt sich in ins­gesamt 3 verschiedenen Profilen studieren.

  • Fachstudiums im Umfang von 78 Credits (Monomaster)
  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und ein Modulpaket (Nebenfach) im Umfang von 36 Credits
  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und zwei Modulpakete (Nebenfächer) im Umfang von jeweils 18 Credits

Sie bewerben sich auf ein Studienprofil.

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Bewerbung

Vorstudium

  • B.A.-Abschluss oder vergleichbarer Abschluss
  • mind. 150 ECTS zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung
  • Fachliche Einschlägigkeit:

    Leistungen in einem germanistischen Studiengang oder in einem Studiengang mit Schwerpunkt auf der Literaturvermittlung oder in einem medien- oder kulturwissenschaftlichen Studiengang, der Kenntnisse der Neueren deutschen Literatur und Literaturtheorie vermittelt

    • für Monomaster (78 Credits) und Fachstudium (42 Credits):
      • im Umfang von mindestens 49 ECTS, darunter
      • Leistungen in der Literaturwissenschaft (Neuere deutsche Literatur) im Umfang von jeweils mindestens 18 ECTS.
    • für das Modulpaket von 36 Credits:
      • im Umfang eines mindestens sechssemestrigen Studiums in einem germanistischen oder literaturwissenschaftlichen Studiengang, das mit den Anforderungen des Göttinger Germanistikstudiums vergleichbar ist.
    • für das Modulpaket von 18 Credits:
      • in einem Umfang, der einem dreisemestrigen Göttinger Germanistikstudium oder einer verwandten Fachrichtung adäquat ist.

Sprachvoraussetzungen

  • Falls Ihre Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist, müssen Sie ausreichende Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache auf dem Niveau des DSH-2 nachweisen.

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Lisa Katharina Müller und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. Jan Borkowski

Seminar für Deutsche Philologie
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
D-37073 Göttingen
Raum 1.232

Tel.: +49-551 39 7516
Fax: +49-551 39 7511

jan.borkowski@phil.uni-goettingen.de


Prof. Dr. Simone Winko

Seminar für Deutsche Philologie
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
D-37073 Göttingen
Raum: 1.233

Tel.: +49-551 39 7518
Fax: +49-551 39 19556

simone.winko@phil.uni-goettingen.de


Dr. Markus Tönjes

Universität Göttingen
Seminar für Deutsche Philologie
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
D-37073 Göttingen
Raum: 0.222

Tel.: +49-551 39 22247
Fax: +49-551 39 7511

markus.toenjes@uni-goettingen.de

Fragen zur Bewerbung

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1. Stock)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Tel: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage