In publica commoda

Global Business (M.Sc.)

Features

Please note:
The Master's programme in Global Business will be closed in the winter semester of 2023/2024 and will be merged into the new Master's programme in Management. The new programme will include a focus on "International Business". The double-degree programme with Nanjing University in China will also be integrated into the new Master's programme. Since admission to the Master's programme in Global Business only takes place in the winter semester, the last application deadline for the M.Sc. in Global Business was 15 May 2022.


The globally focused bilingual master's programme in global business will prepare you for the international working environment in the global economy. You will learn the fundamentals in international business administration and can also choose a speciality area. Due to the required semester abroad component at one of our many international partner universities of the Faculty or University, you an also acquire additional language skills and international skills.The programme also offers the possibility of completing a double degree with the renowned University of Nanjing, China. Sufficient German and English language skills must be proven.

Programme:
Global Business
Degree:
Master of Science (MSc)
Option:
Double Degree
Language of the programme:
German and English
Standard period of study:
4 semesters
Start:
winter semester
Admission:
open (enrolment without previous application)

Get to know us

Programme specific Gespräch Studierende Sommer Campus 720px

Orientation week

For first semester students

Ranking Innenhof OEC 720px

CHE-Ranking 2020

Outstanding ratings

Programme specific LSG Tischgruppe 720px

Information days

Master degrees at our faculty


Details

The internationalization of companies, and increasingly global integration and intensified competitiveness are fundamental developments that determine commerce in the 21st century. Against this background, complex matters facing businesses must be resolved in an increasingly global environment. As a result, special demands are placed on companied and their employees.

The globally oriented bilingual master's programme in global business will prepare you for these new developments and the subsequent international work environments. You will learn the fundamentals in international business administration. Based on the many elective course offerings, you can also select your own topics and develop your own specialty area.

Through the obligatory semester abroad at one of the many international partner universities of the Faculty or the University, you can gain further relevant language and intercultural skills. The programme also offers the possibility of participating in a double degree programme with the renowned University of Nanjing Business School, China . Additional double degree programme options are also underway.

Graduates of the master's programme in global business are particularly well prepared for a career in multinational corporations, international medium-sized companies, and at international organizations.

Depending on your concentration area, you will be equipped to work in the respective areas in companies and organizations and assume management tasks. Furthermore, you will be prepared for an international academic career. Get to know the different professional fields of our graduates in the alumni portraits (in German).

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

The four-semester-long master's programme in global business requires the completion of 120 credits through the following coursework:

  • Basismodule (mandatory courses): 24 credits
  • Spezialisierungsbereich (specialization): 24 credits
  • Seminar (seminar): 6-12 credits
  • Quantitative Methoden (quantitative methods): 6 credits
  • Volkswirtschaftslehre (economics): 6 credits
  • Wahlbereich (electives): 18-24 credits
  • Masterarbeit (master’s thesis): 30 credits

The English-language mandatory courses should advance and deepen your existing knowledge of information systems; finance, accounting, and taxes; management; and marketing. Moreover, you will develop the fundamentals needed for electives in the specialization component . In this area, students can develop their own focus area (major) in the areas of information system; finance, accounting, and taxes; management; or marketing to further develop their own academic profile.

The seminar component will cover a specific topic in international business administration. The component quantitative methods prepares students with the skills needed to apply academic research methods in business and economics. In the economics component, students deepen their knowledge of economic issues. For electives , students can take language courses or other courses related to a personal area of specialization in other areas of business and economics, as well as other related fields.

The mandatory and specialization courses as well as the seminars can be found within the content areas of business administration focus areas of finance, accounting and taxes; management; marketing; or information systems. Master's degree students can also request that their concentration area is stated on their master's degree certificate, as long as they completed at least 30 credits in a specific topic.

The programme also requires an obligatory semester abroad at a foreign university. While studying abroad, students should complete a total of 30 credits. A minimum of 18 credits must be proven and transferred back to the University of Göttingen.

Detailed information about the study programme as well as a detailed listing of the modules/courses offered can be found on the programme website of the Faculty of Business and Economics.

Studienverlauf Global Business Englisch

Module directory

Regulations


Application

The Master's programme in Global Business will be closed in the winter semester of 2023/2024 and will be merged into the new Master's programme in Management. The new programme will include a focus on "International Business". The double-degree programme with Nanjing University in China will also be integrated into the new Master's programme. Since admission to the Master's programme in Global Business only takes place in the winter semester, the last application deadline for the M.Sc. in Global Business was 15 May 2022.


Impressions

Impressions

Specialization in 11 Master's programmes

After the Bachelor's degree you can deepen and expand your knowledge in 11 consecutive Master's degree programmes at the faculty. The faculty offers Master's programmes in Business Administration, Economics, Business Information Systems, Business and Human Resource Education, Applied Statistics and History of Global Markets. Some Master programmes even include a double degree programme with renowned universities in Europe, South Africa and China. See in the video (in German) why it is worthwhile to study in Göttingen.


Göttingen City


Our Campus


Your studies


Contact

Academic Advising

For enrolled students and for questions on application and admission

Service Centre for Students
Faculty of Business and Economics
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen
Oeconomicum, 1st Floor

Phone: +49-551 39 28800

studienberatung@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de
www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Global Business (M.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Bitte beachten Sie:
Der Master-Studiengang Global Business wird zum Wintersemester 2023/2024 eingestellt bzw. geht in dem dann neu startenden Master-Studiengang "Management" auf. In dem neuen Studiengang wird es einen Schwerpunkt "International Business" geben. Das Double-Degree-Programm mit der Universität Nanjing in China wird ebenfalls in den neuen Masterstudiengang integriert werden. Da die Zulassung für den Master-Studiengang Global Business jeweils nur zum Wintersemester erfolgt, war eine Bewerbung für den M.Sc. in Global Business letztmalig bis zum 15. Mai 2022 möglich.


Mit dem international ausgerichteten, zweisprachigen Masterstudiengang Global Business werden Sie optimal auf internationale Arbeitsumfelder der globalen Wirtschaft vorbereitet. Sie erhalten eine fundierte Ausbildung in internationaler Betriebswirtschaftslehre und können darüber hinaus individuelle Schwerpunkte in Ihrem Studium wählen. Durch das obligatorische Auslandssemester an einer der zahlreichen ausländischen Partneruniversitäten der Fakultät oder der Universität erwerben Sie zusätzlich Sprachkenntnisse und interkulturelle Kompetenzen. Der Studiengang bietet zudem die Möglichkeit eines Doppelabschlusses mit der renommierten Universität Nanjing in China. Für den Studiengang müssen gute Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden.

Name des Studienfachs:
Global Business
Abschluss:
Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Optionen:
Double Degree
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
jedes Wintersemester
Zulassung:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Fakultät)

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Die Internationalisierung von Unternehmen, eine zunehmende globale Integration und verstärkte Wettbewerbsintensität sind grundlegende Entwicklungen, die unternehmerisches Handeln im 21. Jahrhundert bestimmen. Vor diesem Hintergrund müssen komplexe betriebswirtschaftliche Fragestellungen zunehmend auch im globalen Kontext gelöst werden. In der Konsequenz werden besondere Anforderungen an Unternehmen und an die bei ihnen Beschäftigten gestellt.

Mit dem international ausgerichteten, zweisprachigen Masterstudiengang Global Business werden Sie optimal auf diese neuen Entwicklungen und daraus resultierenden internationalen Arbeitsumfelder vorbereitet. Sie erhalten eine fundierte Ausbildung in internationaler Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Aufgrund vieler Wahlmöglichkeiten können Sie darüber hinaus eigene Schwerpunkte in Ihrem Studium setzen und ein individuelles Kompetenzprofil entwickeln.

Durch das obligatorische Auslandssemester an einer der zahlreichen ausländischen Partneruniversitäten der Fakultät oder der Universität erwerben Sie zusätzlich relevante Sprachkenntnisse und interkulturelle Kompetenzen. Der Studiengang bietet zudem die Möglichkeit eines Doppelabschlusses mit der Business School der renommierten Universität Nanjing in China .

Als Absolvent*innen des Master-Studiengangs Global Business sind Sie insbesondere auf eine Karriere in multinational agierenden Konzernen, international tätigen Mittelständlern und internationalen Organisationen vorbereitet.

Entsprechend Ihrer persönlichen Schwerpunktsetzung im Studium können Sie in den jeweiligen Bereichen von Unternehmen und Organisationen eingesetzt werden und Führungsfunktionen übernehmen. Ferner steht Ihnen natürlich auch eine internationale akademische Karriere offen. Lernen Sie die unterschiedlichen Berufsfelder unserer Absolvent*innen in den Alumni-Porträts kennen.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Die im Masterstudium Global Business in einer Regelstudienzeit von vier Semestern zu erbringenden 120 Credits setzen sich wie folgt zusammen:

  • Basismodule (Mandatory Courses): 24 Credits
  • Spezialisierungsbereich (Specialization): 24 Credits
  • Seminar (Seminar): 6-12 Credits
  • Quantitative Methoden (Quantitative Methods): 6 Credits
  • Volkswirtschaftslehre (Economics): 6 Credits
  • Wahlbereich (Electives): 18-24 Credits
  • Masterarbeit (Master’s Thesis): 30 Credits

Die englischsprachigen Basismodule sollen fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse in den Bereichen "Information Systems", "Finance, Accounting and Taxes", "Management" sowie "Marketing" vermitteln und die bereits in einem ersten Studiengang erworbenen Kenntnisse vertiefen. Sie bilden außerdem die Grundlage für die Wahlpflichtmodule im Spezialisierungsbereich . In diesem Bereich können die Studierenden eigene Schwerpunkte im Studium (Major) in den Bereichen "Information Systems", "Finance, Accounting and Taxes", "Management" oder "Marketing" setzen und dadurch ein eigenes Studienprofil entwickeln.

Im Seminar wird ein spezifisches Themengebiet der internationalen Betriebswirtschaftslehre behandelt. Der Bereich Quantitative Methoden vermittelt Kompetenzen zur Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Methoden der Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Im Bereich Volkswirtschaftslehre vertiefen die Studierenden ihre Kenntnisse im Bereich volkswirtschaftlicher Wirkungszusammenhänge. Im Wahlbereich können Studierende schließlich etwa Module zur studienbegleitenden Fremdsprachenausbildung oder weitere Module zur persönlichen Schwerpunkt- und Profilbildung aus anderen Bereichen der Wirtschaftswissenschaften sowie verwandter Gebiete belegen.

Die Basismodule, der Spezialisierungsbereich sowie das Seminar lassen sich inhaltlich den betriebswirtschaftlichen Schwerpunkten "Finance, Accounting and Taxes"; "Management"; "Marketing" oder "Information Systems" zuordnen. Studierende des Master-Studiengangs können sich daher auf Antrag in ihrem Master-Zeugnis einen Studienschwerpunkt ausweisen lassen, sofern sie 30 Credits aus einem der genannten Schwerpunkte erworben haben. Der Studiengang sieht ein obligatorisches Auslandssemester an einer ausländischen Universität vor. Während des Auslandsaufenthaltes an dieser ausländischen Universität sind Leistungen in einem Umfang von 30 Credits zu absolvieren. Mindestens sind jedoch Leistungen im Umfang von 18 Credits nachzuweisen und einzubringen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang sowie eine detaillierte Auflistung der angebotenen Module/Lehrveranstaltungen finden Sie auf der Studiengang-Webseite der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Studienverlauf Global Business Deutsch

Modulverzeichnis

Ordnungen


Bewerbung

Bewerbungsfristen

Bitte bewerben Sie sich vom

  • 1. April bis 15. Mai für das Wintersemester
Sie können diesen Studiengang jeweils nur zum Wintersemester beginnen.

Vorstudium

  • Mindestens sechssemestriges Studium mit Bachelor-Abschluss oder gleichwertigem Abschluss im Umfang von mindestens 180 ECTS-Anrechnungspunkten im Studiengang Betriebswirtschaftslehre oder in einer fachlich eng verwandten Fachrichtung.
  • Zum Bewerbungszeitpunkt müssen mindestens 150 der 180 ECTS nachgewiesen werden. Ist dies nicht der Fall, muss die Bewerbung abgelehnt werden.

Sprachvoraussetzungen

  • Englischkenntnisse, sofern Englisch nicht Ihre Muttersprache ist.
  • Deutschkenntnisse, sofern Deutsch nicht Ihre Muttersprache ist.


Einblicke

Einblicke

Spezialisierung in 11 Masterstudiengängen

Nach dem Bachelor­studium können Sie an der Fakultät in 11 konsekutiven Master­studien­gängen Ihr Wissen vertiefen und ausbauen. Die Fakultät bietet Master­studien­gänge in der Betriebs­wirtschafts­lehre, Volks­wirtschafts­lehre, Wirtschafts­informatik, Wirtschafts­pädagogik, Angewandten Statistik und Wirtschafts- und Sozial­geschichte an. Einige Master­studien­gänge beinhalten sogar ein Doppel­abschluss­programm mit renommierten Universitäten in Europa, Süd­afrika und China. Sehen Sie im Video, warum es sich lohnt, in Göttingen zu studieren.


Stadt Göttingen


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Für immatrikulierte Studierende

Georg-August-Universität
Service-Center für Studierende
Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Studienberatung

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen

Oeconomicum, 1. Obergeschoss
Raum 1.135

Tel.: + 49 (0)551 39 28800
Fax: + 49 (0)551 39 9741
(z.Hd. Studienberatung)

studienberatung@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de
Homepage des Studienfachs