In publica commoda

Comparative Literature (M.A.)

Features

Literature, culture, media - broad and interdisciplinary: With a selection of courses from the subjects of literary and cultural studies, the Master's programme in Comparative Literature offers a comprehensive specialist overview of literary and cultural phenomena. In addition to the teaching of theoretical basics, practical seminars and excursions complement the internationally oriented degree programme, which qualifies students for many professions in the fields of literature and cultural mediation as well as in academia.

Name:
Comparative Literature
Degree:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of studies:
4 semesters
Start of studies:
summer and winter term
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
Application to the Faculty

Get to know us


Details

Comparative literature is the science of literature in its international and interdisciplinary relations. As general literary studies , comparative literature deals with fundamental questions of literary theory, methodology, poetics and intertextuality. As comparative literature , it deals with the totality of formal, historical and thematic relationships between works from different time, language and cultural areas. It also focuses on the interaction between literature and the other arts, between literature and media, as well as between literature and philosophy, natural science, politics and religion.

The Department for Comparative Literature in Göttingen has a mutually fruitful exchange and complementary relationship with the individual philologies and the historical, media, art and cultural sciences. It moves in the transitional and contact zones of many individual subjects of the spectrum of literature, art, media, history and cultural studies. In doing so, it takes up and expands their insights and questions. At the same time, the comparative perspective opens up stimulating and innovative points of view for the study of national literatures and the individual arts.

Comparative Literature in Göttingen is a joint interdisciplinary course offered by the philologies as well as other subjects from the spectrum of the arts, cultural studies and history. The subject is designed as a teaching network. The activities of the comparative courses of the professors with a minor in comparative literature and the courses of the coordinator of the degree programme as well as the interdisciplinary lecture series and conferences for young academics form a central component of the study programme.

The Master's programme in Comparative Literature with the degree "Master of Arts" (M.A.) prepares students for jobs in publishing, international cultural exchange, cultural management, educational institutions and journalism, but also qualifies them for academic careers at universities, research institutions and archives.

Our practice-oriented cooperations with regional and supra-regional institutions (LitLog, the Literary Centre Göttingen) and our guest lectureships provide an insight into professional fields suitable for comparatists.

Consecutive programmes

Consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

This degree programme can be studied in 3 different profiles.

  • Single Honours MA totalling 78 credits (Mono-master)
  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with one module package (minor) totalling 36 credits
  • Joint Honours MA totalling 42 credits in combination with two module packages (minors) totalling 18 credits each

You can apply for one study profile.

1. - 4. Semester

4. Semester

Master’s thesis

Regulations and module directory


Application

Previous studies:

  • B.A. degree or comparable degree
  • at least 150 Credits at the time of application
  • Subject-related relevance of the previous studies:
    • Proof of achievements in general and comparative literature (comparative literature) or in a single philology amounting to at least 45 credits, including achievements in the field of literary studies amounting to at least 17 credits.

Language requirements:

  • Reading ability in two modern foreign languages, one of which must be English or French, at level B1 of the CEFR.
  • as far as sufficient knowledge of the Latin or Greek language is proven by the Minor Latinum or Graecum, knowledge of only one modern foreign language has to be proven.
  • If your native language is not German, you must demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the German language at level C1.

Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Questions on the programme

PD Dr. Katerina Kroucheva

Department for Comparative Literature

Humboldtallee 32, Raum 2.106
37073 Göttingen

Phone: 0551/39-22188

Homepage

Questions regarding applications

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1st floor)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Komparatistik (M.A.)

Steckbrief

Literatur, Kultur, Medien – breit gefächert und interdisziplinär: Mit einer Auswahl von Veranstaltungen aus den literatur- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Fächern bietet der Masterstudiengang Komparatistik eine umfassende fachliche Übersicht über literarische und kulturwissenschaftliche Phänomene. Neben der Vermittlung theoretischer Grundlagen runden Praxisseminare und Exkursionen den international ausgerichteten Studiengang ab, der für viele Berufe im literatur- und kulturvermittelnden sowie im wissenschaftlichen Bereich qualifiziert.

Name:
Komparatistik
Abschluss:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Sommer- und Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Bewerbung bei der Fakultät

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Komparatistik ist die Wissenschaft von der Literatur in ihren internationalen und interdisziplinären Bezügen. Als Allgemeine Literaturwissenschaft befasst sich die Komparatistik mit grundlegenden Fragen der Literaturtheorie, Methodologie, Poetik und Intertextualität. Als Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft beschäftigt sie sich mit der Gesamtheit der formalen, historischen und thematischen Beziehungen zwischen Werken verschiedener Zeit-, Sprach- und Kulturräume. Ihr Augenmerk gilt zudem der Interaktion zwischen der Literatur und den anderen Künsten, zwischen Literatur und Medien sowie zwischen Literatur und Philosophie, Naturwissenschaft, Politik und Religion.

Der Studiengang richtet sich an Studierende, die einen B.A. in der Komparatistik, in einer eng verwandten Fachrichtung oder in einer Einzelphilologie erworben haben. Der als interdisziplinärer Lehrverbund angelegte Studiengang kombiniert die europäischen und außereuropäischen Philologien mit kunst-, kultur-, geschichts- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern.

Zu den Einzelphilologien und den Geschichts-, Medien-, Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften steht die Komparatistik in einem wechselseitig fruchtbaren Austausch- und Ergänzungsverhältnis. Sie bewegt sich in den Übergangs- und Berührungszonen vieler Einzelfächer des literatur-, kunst-, medien-, geschichts- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Spektrums. Dabei greift sie deren Erkenntnisse und Fragestellungen auf und erweitert sie. Zugleich eröffnet die komparatistische Perspektive ihrerseits anregende und innovative Gesichtspunkte für das Studium der Nationalliteraturen und der einzelnen Künste.

Das Fach Komparatistik ist ein gemeinsames interdisziplinäres Lehrangebot der Philologien sowie weiterer Fächer des kunst-, kultur- und geschichtswissenschaftlichen Spektrums. Das Fach ist als Lehrverbund angelegt. Einen zentralen Bestandteil des Studienangebots bilden die Aktivitäten der komparatistischen Lehrveranstaltungen der Professorinnen und Professoren mit Nebenschwerpunkt Komparatistik und die Lehrveranstaltungen der Koordinatorin des Studiengangs sowie die interdisziplinären Ringvorlesungen und Nachwuchstagungen.

Der Master-Studiengang Komparatistik mit dem Abschluss „Master of Arts“ (M.A.) bereitet auf Tätigkeiten im Verlagswesen, im internationalen Kulturaustausch, im Kulturmanagement, in Bildungseinrichtungen und im Journalismus vor, befähigt aber auch zur wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn an Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Archiven.

Unsere praxisorientierten Kooperationen mit regionalen und überregionalen Institutionen (LitLog, das Literarische Zentrum Göttingen) und unsere Gastdozenturen liefern einen Einblick in Berufsfelder, die für Komparatistinnen und Komparatisten geeignet sind.

Weiterführende Studiengänge

Weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Studiengang lässt sich in ins­gesamt 3 verschiedenen Profilen studieren.

  • Fachstudiums im Umfang von 78 Credits (Monomaster)
  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und ein Modulpaket (Nebenfach) im Umfang von 36 Credits
  • Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 Credits und zwei Modulpakete (Nebenfächer) im Umfang von jeweils 18 Credits

Sie bewerben sich auf ein Studienprofil.

1. - 4. Semester

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Bewerbung

Vorstudium

  • B.A.-Abschluss oder vergleichbarer Abschluss
  • mind. 150 Credits zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung
  • Fachliche Einschlägigkeit des Vorstudiums:
    • Nachzuweisen sind Leistungen in der Allgemeinen und Vergleichenden Literaturwissenschaft (Komparatistik) oder in einer Einzelphilologie im Umfang von wenigstens 45 Anrechnungspunkten, darunter Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Literaturwissenschaft im Umfang von wenigstens 17 Anrechnungspunkten.

Sprachkenntnisse

  • Lesefähigkeit in zwei modernen Fremdsprachen, von denen eine Englisch oder Französisch sein muss, auf dem Niveau B1 des GER.
  • soweit ausreichende Kenntnisse der lateinischen oder griechischen Sprache durch das Kleine Latinum oder Graecum nachgewiesen werden, müssen Kenntnisse lediglich einer modernen Fremdsprache nachgewiesen werden
  • Falls Ihre Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist, müssen Sie ausreichende Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache auf dem Niveau C1 nachweisen.

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Lisa Katharina Müller und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

PD Dr. Katerina Kroucheva

Seminar für Deutsche Philologie
Abteilung Komparatistik

Humboldtallee 32, Raum 2.106
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: 0551/39-22188

Homepage

Fragen zur Bewerbung

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1. Stock)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Tel: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage