About us

The Georg-August University School of Science (GAUSS) is a scientific institution of the University of Göttingen aiming to promote excellence by structured training and supervision of more than 1,200 doctoral candidates in mathematics, natural and life sciences. Working on research projects towards their doctorate the students are supported in the development of scientific networks in an international environment on the Göttingen Campus and beyond.

GAUSS providing the organizational and regulatory umbrella was founded in 2005 by the five faculties of Biology and Psychology, Chemistry, Geoscience and Geography, Mathematics and Computer Science, and Physics. These faculties are closely cooperating with the University Medical Center, three Max Planck Institutes (Multidisciplinary Sciences, Dynamics and Self-Organization, Solar System Research), the German Primate Center – Leibniz Institute for Primate Research and the German Aerospace Center – Göttingen site in doctoral education.

The graduate school is governed by the GAUSS Managing Board and maintains the GAUSS Office. The flexible structure of the graduate school facilitates the integration of additional doctoral programs to reflect emerging research areas of externally funded research initiatives.