In publica commoda

Egyptology and Coptic Studies (M.A.)

The M.A. degree programme at Göttingen offers plenty of possibilities for your studies: Depending upon whether you strive towards doctoral studies in Egyptology or Coptic Studies or whether you want to expand upon your studies in another subject, you can select different combinations of modules. In tutorials, you will expand upon your knowledge of Egyptian languages - or you can make first contact with the subject in comparative cultural history seminar courses. Courses in archaeology, religion and literature will provide you with deeper insights into the pharaonic and Coptic cultures.


Programme: Egyptology and Coptic Studies
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: summer and winter semester
Degree programme options: Joint Honours MA in Egyptology and Coptic Studies (42 C); Module packages: Egyptology and Coptic Studies as MA minor subjects (18 C); Egyptology as MA minor subject (36 C); Coptic Studies as MA minor subject (36 C)
Admission requirements for Joint Honours MA: Overview
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview (pdf in german)
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)
Language of the programme: German

Programme description:
Egyptology and Coptic Studies at the institute in Göttingen
The science of Egyptology researches the culture of pharaonic Egypt. The topic of Coptic Studies is Late Antique Christian Egypt. Both foci are represented in Göttingen in a single institute and are taught as one subject. Therefore students can gain a particularly comprehensive view of the characteristics and development of architecture, figurative art and literature in pre-modern Egypt. The research foci at the Göttingen Institute currently are the history of religion and language, the history of the Coptic Church, archaeology, architectural history, cultural theory and "gender studies", as well as the history of Egyptological and Coptic science.
The department is involved in an excavation in Egypt and is closely connected to the Egyptian collections in Hildesheim and Hanover. These allow students to work with original objects even during their education. The department publishes two academic journals fostering a lively exchange with international scientists, scholars and research institutions. This allows us to organise guest lectures and conferences regularly.

Programme contents
A look at another culture poses questions about the people, the nature of their co-existence and also about their thoughts and beliefs. With the objective of gaining information from archaeological finds and findings and discovering their own answers, students learn how to deal with the scientific approaches of archaeology, the history of religion, art and literature, linguistics and cultural, social and church history. The geographical region of ancient Egypt approximately corresponds to that of modern-day Egypt. In addition, its sphere of influence extended to West and South Africa as well as to the Near East. Its timeline spans several millennia from the prehistory of the Nile Valley up to the High Middle Ages.

During their Master's studies, students have the option of focusing on "Egyptology" or on "Coptic Studies". During 4 semesters, they will acquire a total of 120 ECTS credit points (abbreviated to "C"). This consists of 42 C in their core subject studies, in addition to a subject-external module package of 36 C (two 18 C module packages are also possible) and 12 C from the key competencies section. In the final semester, they will write a Master's thesis with which they will acquire 30 C. More detailed information about which type of course and which type of examination is scheduled for each module can be found in the catalogue of modules in the examination and study regulations.
The core subject of "Egyptology and Coptic Studies" offers language specialisation in either focus ("Egyptology" or "Coptic Studies"). This specialisation is expanded upon by modules concerning cultural history. Depending upon the academic objectives or focus, the selection of modules regarding

  • competence in academic methods (academic writing; text and communication management; religious sociology; on-site internship);
  • academic expertise (e.g. foreign language competence such as French for cultural scientists; Arabic; Latin; Greek);
  • creativity and media literacy


is recommended.

Within other suitable Master's degree courses, the "Egyptology and Coptic Studies" field can be selected as the "Egyptology" module package, or the "Coptic Studies" module package each totalling 36 C, or as the "Egyptology and Coptic Studies" module package totalling 18 C. The 36 C module package contains an equal balance of language-based training and information concerning cultural history. The 18 C module package contains a focus purely based on cultural history.

Language skills
As a rule, it will be a great advantage to students on the Master's degree programme in Egyptology and Coptic Studies if they can already read English and French well. If necessary, these and further language skills, for example basic knowledge of ancient Greek for Coptic Studies, can, however, be acquired during the course of studies at the University. A wide range of courses are readily available for this objective. Current information regarding this can be found on the homepage of the Central Institution for Languages and Key Competencies (German abbreviation: ZESS).

Possible subject combinations
The "Egyptology and Coptic Studies" degree programme belongs to the Faculty of Humanities. Due to the variety of faculties at the University of Göttingen and the miscellaneous subjects they offer, there are numerous possible subject combinations. Combinations with content-related subjects are recommended. Examples of these include Ancient Oriental Studies, Archaeology of the Classical and Byzantine World, Prehistory and Early History, History, Classical Philology, Art History, Theology, Religious Studies, and General Linguistics. Other recommendations include combinations with method-oriented subjects such as Literature, Modern Linguistics and Modern Cultural Studies (e.g. German Studies, Cultural Anthropology).

Objectives
Graduates of this degree programme will have mastered the script and language of the Egyptians and can independently acquire and interpret ancient Egyptian texts.
During the Master's degree course, students will further expand their abilities for independent subject-specific and interdisciplinary academic work. They will acquire language competencies by learning further language levels and written forms and exposing themselves to difficult texts. They will be able to handle specialised literature written in various modern languages, practise the use of academic language and deepen their knowledge of Egyptology and Coptic Studies.

After studying
Students will qualify for a subject-related academic career at a university, in non-university research establishments, libraries, museums and collections at home and abroad. The Master's degree course lays the foundation for subject-related professionalisation and is an entrance requirement for research training groups and continuing doctoral degree course programmes. Outside university or academic fields, mainly professions in publishing houses and other media establishments as well as in further education skills come into consideration.

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Aegyptologie_MA

Kontakt
Studien- und Prüfungsberatung
Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer, Eva Wolff
Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen
Tel. +49 551 39 10664
Fax. +49 551 39 4010
E-MailHomepage

Spezifische Fachberatung:
Dr. phil. Janne Arp-Neumann
Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14 (KWZ)
Raum 2.809
37073 Göttingen

Tel. +49 551 39-21200

jarp@uni-goettingen.de

Fragen zur Bewerbung
Snezana Manojlovic
Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen
Tel. +49 551 39 4653
Fax. +49 551 39 4010
Homepage





Informationen zum Fach



Weiterführende Informationen



Überblicksinformationen



Verwandte Studiengänge



Fachliche Links

Ägyptologie und Koptologie (M.A.)


Der M.A.-Studiengang in Göttingen bietet Ihnen eine Vielzahl von Studienmöglichkeiten: Je nachdem, ob Sie eine Promotion in Ägyptologie oder Koptologie anstreben oder Ihr Studium eines anderen Faches ergänzen möchten, wählen Sie unterschiedliche Kombinationen von Modulen. In Übungen bauen Sie Ihre Kenntnisse ägyptischer Sprachen aus - oder Sie nehmen in vergleichenden kulturgeschichtlichen Seminaren erstmals den Kontakt zum Fach auf. In Lehrveranstaltungen zu Archäologie, Religion und Literatur gewinnen Sie vertiefende Einblicke in die pharaonische und koptische Kultur.


Name des Studienangebots: Ägyptologie und Koptologie
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Sommer- und Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Ägyptologie und Koptologie (42 C); Modulpaket Ägyptologie und Koptologie (18 C); Modulpaket Ägyptologie (36 C); Modulpaket Koptologie (36 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen für den Masterstudiengang: Übersicht
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)

Darstellung des Studienangebots:
Ägyptologie und Koptologie am Göttinger Institut
Die Ägyptologie als Wissenschaft erforscht die Kultur des pharaonischen Ägypten. Gegenstand der Koptologie ist das spätantike christliche Ägypten. Beide Schwerpunkte werden in Göttingen an einem Institut vertreten und als ein Studienfach gelehrt, so dass die Studierenden einen besonders weiten Blick über die Ausprägungen und Entwicklungen der Architektur, gegenständlichen Kunst und Literatur im vormodernen Ägypten gewinnen können. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte am Göttinger Institut sind derzeit Religions- und Sprachgeschichte, koptische Kirchengeschichte, Archäologie, Bauforschung, Kulturtheorie, "Gender Studies" sowie die ägyptologische und koptologische Wissenschaftsgeschichte.
Das Seminar beherbergt ein Grabungsprojekt in Ägypten und steht in engen Verbindungen mit den Ägyptischen Sammlungen in Hildesheim und Hannover, die es den Studierenden ermöglichen, während ihrer Ausbildung bereits mit Originalobjekten zu arbeiten. Am Seminar werden zwei Fachzeitschriften herausgegeben, so dass ein reger Austausch mit internationalen Wissenschaftlern und Forschungsinstitutionen gepflegt wird und regelmäßig Gastvorträge und Tagungen organisiert werden können.

Inhalte und Verlauf
Der Blick auf eine fremde Kultur wirft Fragen zu den Menschen, den Formen ihres Zusammenlebens und zu ihrem Denken und Glauben auf. Mit dem Ziel, Informationen aus den archäologischen Funden und Befunden zu gewinnen und eigene Antworten zu finden, erlernen die Studierenden den Umgang mit den wissenschaftlichen Herangehensweisen von Archäologie, Religions-, Kunst- und Literaturgeschichte, Linguistik, Kultur-, Sozial- und Kirchengeschichte. Der geographische Raum des Alten Ägypten deckt sich annähernd mit dem heutigen, hinzu kommen die west- und südafrikanischen sowie die vorderasiatischen Einflussgebiete. Der zeitliche Bogen spannt sich über mehrere Jahrtausende von der Vorgeschichte des Niltals bis in das hohe Mittelalter.

Im Masterstudium steht den Studierenden die Wahl zwischen dem Schwerpunkt "Ägyptologie" und dem Schwerpunkt "Koptologie" offen. Im Verlauf von 4 Semestern erwerben sie insgesamt 120 "Credit Points" (Anrechnungspunkte nach ECTS, abgekürzt "C"), indem sie im Fachstudium 42 C sammeln, daneben in einem fachexternen Modulpaket 36 C (auch zwei18 C-Modulpakete möglich) und aus dem Bereich Schlüsselkompetenzen 12 C. Im letzten Semester verfassen sie die schriftliche Masterarbeit, mit der sie 30 C erwerben. Der Modulkatalog der Prüfungs- und Studienordnung gibt genauere Informationen darüber, welche Art von Lehrveranstaltung und welche Prüfungsform für welches Modul vorgesehen ist.
Das Fachstudium "Ägyptologie und Koptologie" bietet in beiden angebotenen Schwerpunkten "Ägyptologie" oder "Koptologie" jeweils eine sprachliche Spezialisierung, die um kulturhistorische Module erweitert ist. Je nach den ins Auge gefassten Studienzielen oder wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten empfiehlt sich die Wahl von Modulen zur

  • wissenschaftlichen Methodenkompetenz (wissenschaftliches Schreiben; Text- und Kommunikationsmanagement; Religionssoziologie; Geländepraktikum);

  • wissenschaftlichen Sachkompetenz (etwa Fremdsprachenkompetenz, wie Französisch für Kulturwissenschaftler; Arabisch; Latein, Griechisch);

  • Kreativ- und Medienkompetenz.


Innerhalb anderer geeigneter Masterstudiengänge kann das Studiengebiet Ägyptologie und Koptologie als Modulpaket "Ägyptologie" oder Modulpaket "Koptologie" im Umfang von je 36 C oder als Modulpaket "Ägyptologie und Koptologie" im Umfang von 18 C studiert werden. Die 36-C-Modulpakete beinhalten jeweils eine gleichberechtigt sprachliche und kulturgeschichtliche Ausbildung. Das 18-C-Modulpaket beinhaltet einen rein kulturgeschichtlichen Schwerpunkt.

Sprachkenntnisse
Grundsätzlich ist es für die Studierenden des Masterstudiengangs Ägyptologie und Koptologie von großem Vorteil, wenn sie gut Englisch und Französisch lesen können. Gegebenenfalls können sie diese und weitere Sprachkenntnisse, beispielsweise Grundkenntnisse des Altgriechischen für Koptologen, während des Studiums an der Universität erwerben, die dafür ein breites Angebot an Kursen bereithält. Aktuelle Informationen dazu gibt die Homepage der Zentralen Einrichtung für Sprachen und Schlüsselqualifikationen ("ZESS").

Mögliche Fächerkombinationen
Der Studiengang "Ägyptologie und Koptologie" gehört der Philosophischen Fakultät an. Aufgrund der Vielfalt an Fakultäten der Universität Göttingen und ihren diversen Fächern sind die Kombinationsmöglichkeiten zahlreich. Empfehlenswert sind Verbindungen mit inhaltlich naheliegenden Fächern wie Altorientalistik, Archäologie der Klassischen und Byzantinischen Welt, Ur- und Frühgeschichte, Geschichte, Klassische Philologie, Kunstgeschichte, Theologie, Religionswissenschaft, Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft oder Verbindungen mit methodenorientierten Fächern wie den Literaturwissenschaften und modernen Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften (z.B. Germanistik, Kulturanthropologie).

Zielsetzungen
Die Absolventen dieses Studiengangs beherrschen Schrift und Sprache der Ägypter und können altägyptische Texte selbständig erfassen und interpretieren.
Im Laufe des Masterstudiums bauen die Studierenden die Fähigkeit zum eigenständigen fachspezifischen und interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten weiter aus. Sie erwerben Sprachkompetenzen, indem sie weitere Sprachstufen und Schriftformen lernen und sich mit schwierigen Texten auseinandersetzen. Sie gehen sicher mit Fachliteratur um, die in diversen modernen Sprachen verfasst ist, üben sich im Umgang mit der Wissenschaftssprache und vertiefen ihre Kenntnisse der Ägyptologie und Koptologie.

Nach dem Studium
Die Studierenden qualifizieren sich für eine fachbezogene wissenschaftliche Karriere an Universitäten, in außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen des Faches, Bibliotheken, Museen und Sammlungen im In- und Ausland. Das Masterstudium legt die Grundlagen für eine fachbezogene Professionalisierung und ist Eingangsvoraussetzung für einschlägige Graduiertenkollegs und weiterführende Promotionsstudiengänge. Außerhalb des universitären oder wissenschaftsnahen Bereichs kommen vor allem qualifizierte Tätigkeiten bei Verlagen und anderen Medien sowie in der Erwachsenenbildung in Betracht.