Collaborative Research Centre 990: Ecological and Socioeconomic Functions of Tropical Lowland Rainforest Transformation Systems (Sumatra, Indonesia)

Project term 1st Phase: 01.01.2012 - 31.12.2015

Project term 2nd Phase: 01.01.2016 - 31.12.2019

In many tropical areas, rainforests are cleared in order to exploit timber and other forest products and plant crops for food, feed and fuel use. Commonly it is assumed that, when natural forests are cleared, all forest functions and services are lost. However, complete conservation is not realistic in many settings and might also not be required from an ecological perspective. Surprisingly, the determinants of different patterns of deforestation and the roles of resulting transformation systems of tropical rainforests for conserving biodiversity as well as ecological and socioeconomic functions have so far received little attention in scientific research.

The Collaborative Research Center (CRC) aims at providing science-based knowledge on how to protect and enhance the ecological functions of tropical forests and agricultural transformation systems at a landscape scale, while improving human welfare. Further, the program aims at providing baseline information on how to integrate agricultural land use and conservation issues.

The research will be implemented in one of the largest regions of tropical lowland rainforest in Southeast Asia, namely Jambi Province in Sumatra, Indonesia. The most important transformation systems in Jambi include rubber and oil palm plantations. Within Jambi, two landscapes and 32 core sites - including transformation systems and forest reference sites - were selected for detailed analyses. The CRC scientific projects will analyze and compare a broad range of issues, including above and below ground biodiversity, soil fertility, water, nutrient and greenhouse gas fluxes, as well as economic, social, cultural and political aspects related to rainforest transformation. A particular focus will be on identifying synergies and trade-offs among and between the various ecological and socioeconomic functions, which is an important precondition for designing and implementing more sustainable systems (including biosphere reserves).

The CRC is organized in close cooperation between the University of Göttingen and the university of Jambi (UNJA), Bogor Agricultural University (IPB), Tadulako University (UNTAD) and the Indonesian Institute of Science (LIPI). It is a unique research undertaking on issues of lowland rainforest transformation, especially with a view to its very broad interdisciplinary focus and landscape perspective.

Sonderforschungsbereich 990: Ökologische und sozioökonomische Funktionen tropischer Tieflandregenwald-Transformationssysteme (Sumatra, Indonesien) (Phase 2: 2016 – 2019)

Projektlaufzeit 2. Phase: 01.01.2016 - 31.12.2019

In vielen tropischen Gebieten werden Regenwälder gerodet, um Holz und andere Waldprodukte zu gewinnen und Nahrungs-, Futter- und Energiepflanzen anzubauen. Häufig wird angenommen, dass beim Roden natürlichen Wälder alle Funktionen und Leistungen des Waldes verloren gehen. Allerdings ist eine vollständige Konservierung in vielen Situationen nicht realistisch und aus ökologischer Sicht möglicherweise auch nicht erforderlich. Überraschenderweise wurden die Determinanten der Abholzung tropischer Regenwälder und die Rolle der daraus entstehenden Transformationssysteme für den Erhalt von Biodiversität und anderen ökologischen und sozioökonomischen Funktionen im Detail bisher nur wenig wissenschaftlich erforscht.

Der Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) verfolgt das Ziel, wissenschaftlich fundierte Erkenntnisse darüber bereitzustellen, wie auf der Landschaftsskala die ökologischen Funktionen tropischer Regenwälder und landwirtschaftlicher Transformationssysteme erhalten und verbessert werden können, bei gleichzeitiger Steigerung des menschlichen Wohls. Ebenso verfolgt das Programm die Frage, wie landwirtschaftliche Nutzung und Naturschutz besser integriert werden können.

Die Forschung wird in einer der größten Tieflandregenwaldregionen Südostasiens durchgeführt, nämlich in der Provinz Jambi in Sumatra, Indonesien. Gummi- und Ölpalmenplantagen gehören zu den wichtigsten Transformationssystemen in Jambi. Innerhalb der Provinz wurden zwei Landschaften und 32 Kernflächen, die unterschiedliche Transformationssysteme ebenso wie Regenwaldreferenzflächen umfassen, für umfassende Analysen ausgewählt. Die wissenschaftlichen SFB Projekte werden eine Vielzahl relevanter Aspekte untersuchen und vergleichen, z.B. ober- und unterirdische Biodiversität, Bodenfruchtbarkeit, Wasser- und Nährstoffflüsse, Treibhausgasemissionen, sowie wirtschaftliche, soziale, kulturelle und politische Dimensionen der Landnutzungsänderung. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf der Analyse von Synergien und Konflikten zwischen den unterschiedlichen ökologischen und sozioökonomischen Funktionen liegen, deren detaillierte Kenntnis eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Systemen mit höherer Nachhaltigkeit ist (inkl. Biosphärenreservate).

Der SFB wird in enger Kooperation zwischen der Universität Göttingen und der Universität Jambi (UNJA), Universität Bogor (IPB), Universität Tadulako (UNTAD) und dem Institut für Wissenschaft (LIPI) durchgeführt. Es handelt sich um ein Forschungsprogramm zur Transformation tropischer Tieflandregenwälder, welches vor allem im Hinblick auf die sehr breite interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung und die Landschaftsperspektive international einzigartig ist.