In publica commoda

Social Sciences (B.A.)

This Bachelor's degree programme offers you a broad education in Social Sciences: During the first semester, you will receive a theoretical, methodical and scientific overview of social issues. Only in the second semester will you opt for two subjects in the Social Sciences. Additionally, you will focus your personal profile by specialising in Law and/or Economics, advanced studies in Ethnology or a further subject in the Social Sciences.

Name of degree programme: Social Sciences (B.A.)
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regular period of study: 6 semesters
Start of courses: winter semester
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the summer semester 2018:

  • 1st subject semester: start of studies in the winter semester only
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): start of studies in the winter semester only (application to International Student Office)



Social Sciences?
Social sciences examine the phenomena of communal life in society with theoretical or empirical methods. Social interaction is analysed, for example individuals and their roles, groups and societies, but also social networks and structures, how they develop, how they function and how they disintegrate.

Why study Social Sciences in Göttingen?
The interdisciplinary Bachelor’s degree programme in Social Sciences combines broad, subject-related scientific instruction with innovative ideas from the Bologna discussion. During the first semester, students receive basic instruction in the theories and methods of social sciences. Subsequently, their knowledge is expanded in two disciplines of social science, combined with an option for specialisation.

Content and structure of the degree programme
With this degree programme, you engage in a course of studies with a wide range of subjects and many options for specialisation. During the first semester, you will receive basic theoretical, methodological and scientific instruction in social sciences.
Only in the second semester will you decide in which two subject areas of social science (Educational Science, Ethnology, Gender Studies, Interdisciplinary Indian Studies, Political Science, Sociology or Sports) you wish to expand your knowledge. You will also develop your personal profile by selecting an area in which you specialise. Here, the following areas are available:
1.Advanced studies in Ethnology (languages and regional specialisation)
2. Economics or Law, or a combination of Economics and Law
3. another subject area of social sciences

An internship integrated in the degree programme or a period of study at one of our international partner universities will provide you with an opportunity to gather first practical experience.

Other options are available in the area of key competencies. Here, for instance, you may strengthen your social commitment, learn new languages, gather first experience in research or develop your rhetorical competence in an international business game.
The extensive portfolio of options provides you with many opportunities to develop your personal profile and to benefit from the wide range of courses offered by our Faculty and our cooperation partners.

Fields of employment
Students of Social Sciences acquire professional competencies for a variety of occupational fields. These include market and opinion research, organisational and human resources development, employment in political parties and associations, development cooperation, cultural and educational politics, foreign affairs and international development, public relations, marketing, promotion of women and gender mainstreaming, public administration, business enterprises, town planning and regional planning, the media and cultural institutions, museums, non-governmental organisations, political education and adult education. The integrated internship provides a first opportunity for orientation towards various professions and occupational fields.

The degree programme in Social Sciences prepares students for the acquisition of more advanced scientific qualification, for example through Master’s degree programmes.

In publica commoda

Sozialwissenschaften (B.A.)

Der Bachelorstudiengang Sozialwissenschaften bietet Ihnen eine breite sozialwissenschaftliche Ausbildung: Sie erhalten im ersten Semester einen theoretischen, methodischen und wissenschaftlichen Überblick zu gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen und Sie legen erst im zweiten Semester Ihre zwei Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächer fest. Zusätzlich schärfen Sie Ihr individuelles Profil durch eine Spezialisierung auf Rechts- und/oder Wirtschaftswissenschaften, eine ethnologische Vertiefung oder ein weiteres sozialwissenschaftliches Fach.

Name des Studienfachs: Sozialwissenschaften
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester

Zulassung zum Sommersemester 2018:

  • 1. Fachsemester: keine Zulassung (Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)






Was sind Sozialwissenschaften?
Die Sozialwissenschaften untersuchen die Phänomene gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens durch theoretische oder erfahrende Methoden. Es werden soziale Verflechtungen analysiert, wie beispielsweise Einzelpersonen und ihre Rollen, Gruppen und Gesellschaften aber auch Netzwerke und Strukturen, wie sie entstehen, wirken und auseinanderfallen.

... und was sind sie nicht?
Der Studiengang Sozialwissenschaften ist nicht zu vergleichen mit Studiengängen wie Soziale Arbeit oder Sozialpädagogik und bereitet auch nicht auf therapeutische oder psychologische Arbeitsbereiche vor. Die Berufsfelder, die Ihnen mit dem Bachelor Sozialwissenschaften offen stehen, liegen nicht in diesen Aufgabenfeldern. Auch ein Wechsel aus dem Bachelor Sozialwissenschaften in einen der oben genannten Bereiche dürfte äußerst schwierig werden.

Warum Sozialwissenschaften in Göttingen studieren?
Der interdisziplinäre Bachelorstudiengang Sozialwissenschaften verbindet eine breite sozialwissenschaftliche Ausbildung mit innovativen Ideen aus der Bologna-Diskussion. Die Studierenden erhalten im ersten Semester grundlegende Einblicke in Theorien und Methoden der Sozialwissenschaften. Im Anschluss daran werden zwei sozialwissenschaftliche Fachdisziplinen vertieft und mit einer Spezialisierungsmöglichkeit kombiniert.

Inhalte und Aufbau des Studiengangs
Mit dem Studiengang entscheiden Sie sich für ein Studium mit einem breiten Fächerspektrum und vielen Wahlmöglichkeiten. Im ersten Semester erhalten Sie eine theoretische, methodische und wissenschaftliche Grundausbildung in den Sozialwissenschaften.
Sie legen erst im zweiten Semester fest, welche zwei sozialwissenschaftlichen Fachgebiete (Erziehungswissenschaft, Ethnologie, Geschlechterforschung, Interdisziplinäre Indienstudien, Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie oder Sportwissenschaften) Sie vertiefen möchten. Weiterhin schärfen Sie Ihr individuelles Profil durch die Wahl eines Spezialisierungsbereiches. Hier stehen Ihnen folgende Bereiche zur Verfügungl:
1. Vertiefung Ethnologie (Sprachen und regionale Spezialisierung)
2. Wirtschaftswissenschaften oder Rechtswissenschaften oder Wirtschafts- und Rechtswissenschaften in Kombination
3. ein weiteres sozialwissenschaftliches Fachgebiet

Erste praktische Erfahrungen sammeln Sie durch ein in das Studium integriertes Praktikum oder einen Aufenthalt an einer unserer Partneruniversitäten im Ausland.

Weitere Wahlmöglichkeiten haben Sie im Bereich der Schlüsselkompetenzen. Hier können Sie unter anderem ihr zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement stärken, neue Sprachen erlernen, erste Forschungserfahrungen sammeln oder ihre rhetorischen Kompetenzen in einem internationalen Planspiel ausbauen.
Sie haben durch die großen Wahlmöglichkeiten viele Chancen, Ihr eigenes Profil zu schärfen und profitieren dabei von den umfangreichen Lehrangeboten unserer Fakultät und unserer Kooperationspartner.

Berufsfelder
Mit dem sozialwissenschaftlichen Studium werden fachliche Kompetenzen für Tätigkeiten in unterschiedlichen Berufsfeldern erworben. Hierzu zählen Felder wie Markt- und Meinungsforschung, Organisations- und Personalentwicklung, Parteien und Verbände, Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Institutionen der Kultur-, Außen- und Entwicklungspolitik, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Marketing, Frauenförderung und Gender Mainstreaming, öffentliche Verwaltungen, Wirtschaftsunternehmen, Stadt- und Regionalplanung, Medien und Kultureinrichtungen, Museen, Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen sowie Politische und Erwachsenenbildung. Durch das integrierte Praktikum wird eine erste Orientierung in unterschiedliche Praxis- und Berufsfelder ermöglicht.

Das Studium der Sozialwissenschaften bereitet auf eine weiterführende wissenschaftliche Qualifizierung etwa in Masterstudiengängen vor.