In publica commoda

Mathematics (B.Sc.)

Well prepared for research and the economy! In this research-oriented degree programme, solid basic training opens up many possible options for an individual profile. The interdisciplinary nature of Mathematics allows students to link mathematical methods with other scientific disciplines. With excellent capacity for analytical thought, mathematicians have been in high demand in various areas of research and the economy for years. This degree programme takes place in an international atmosphere which characterises the reputation of Mathematics at Göttingen.

Subject: Mathematics
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Standard duration of study: 6 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Extramural studies possible

Admission to the summer semester 2018:

  • 1st subject semester: start of studies in the winter semester only
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): start of studies in the winter semester only (application to International Student Office)

The studies of mathematics
Mathematics with its abstract structures and its disentanglement from concrete situations enables to apply mathematical theories to many different areas. In addition to mathematical factual knowledge mathematical studies also impart:

  • the ability to abstract and the capability to identify analogies and basic patterns
  • the skill to arrange, identify, formulate and solve problems
  • training of conceptual, analytical and logical thinking
  • the ability to communicate and the competence to work in teams via collectively solving mathematical problems

  • It prepares for a big spectrum of possible careers. In view of this, the mathematics programme of Göttingen University offers a strong and challenging education that imparts both broad basic knowledge as well as scientific working methods.

    In Göttingen, students of mathematics are especially well looked after: this takes place in many different supplement offers like practical lectures, placements and revision courses right from the first semester. The study office for mathematics assists with every organisational matter of the students.

    Fields of study in Göttingen's mathematics programme

    Corresponding to the four main research areas of the department there are four fields of study, namely two that focus on fundamentals:
  • SP1: Analysis-Geometry-Topology
  • SP2: Algebra-Geometry-Theory of Numbers

  • and two fields of study that are application-oriented
  • SP3: Numerical and Applied Mathematics
  • SP4: Mathematical Stochastics

  • Structure of the studies
    The Bachelor's programme in Mathematics is divided into three sections of study: basic studies in the first year, intermediate studies in the second year and in-depth studies in the third year.

    During the basic studies in the first year the basic knowledge and skills are acquired that will be used during the whole duration of the programme. During this part of study, you will complete the basic modules Analysis I and II as well as AGLA I and II, whereat the abbreviation AGLA stands for ?Analytical Geometry and Linear Algebra.

    In the second year of the programme the intermediate studies start. The students take basic lectures from all of the four fields of study of the mathematics programme of Göttingen University so that they then can choose an area of concentration in which they would like to write their Bachelor's thesis.

    In the in-depth studies in the third year of the programme the students will take continuative courses in mathematics and write the Bachelor's thesis.

    Study tracks
    In the Bachelor programme of mathematics there are three research-oriented study tracks: a general research-oriented track F, a practical-oriented track P and a physics-oriented track Phy: These differ in intermediate and in-depth studies. The track F offers the highest amount of freedom of choice when it comes to courses from the field of mathematics. In the track P you can only choose the two application-oriented fields of study and you have to take some courses of these areas as well as a practical course.
    In the track Phy your minor subject is physics. You also have to take different mandatory courses from the field of physics.

    Minor subjects to combine with
    Mathematics is always studied in combination with a minor subject. In the tracks F and P, computer science, theoretical physics, experimental physics, chemistry, business, economics and philosophy are possible choices. In the track Phy, physics is the minor subject.

    Occupational fields
    Graduates of a successful Bachelor's programme in mathematics have very good occupational possibilities in banks, insurance companies, consulting businesses, in research and development departments of big enterprises or commercial business, in consulting and sales departments of companies in the technical branch as well as in the IT and advertising branch.

In publica commoda

Mathematik (B.Sc.)

Fit für Forschung und Wirtschaft! In diesem forschungsorientierten Studiengang eröffnet eine solide Basisausbildung viele Wahlmöglichkeiten für individuelle Profilierung. Die Interdisziplinärität der Mathematik ermöglicht Studierenden, mathematische Methoden mit anderen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen zu verknüpfen. Mit ihrer herausragenden analytischen Denkfähigkeit sind Mathematikerinnen und Mathematikerinnen in verschiedenen Bereichen von Forschung und Wirtschaft seit Jahren sehr gefragt. Das Studium erfolgt in internationaler Atmosphäre, die den Ruf der Göttinger Mathematik prägt.

Name des Studienfachs: Mathematik
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Teilzeitstudium möglich

Zulassung zum Sommersemester 2018:

  • 1. Fachsemester: keine Zulassung (Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)




Mathe studieren in Göttingen




Das Studium der Mathematik
Die Mathematik mit ihren abstrakten Strukturen und ihren Loslösungen von konkreten Gegebenheiten erlaubt es, eine mathematische Theorie auf die verschiedensten Gegenstandsbereiche anzuwenden. Neben mathematischem Faktenwissen vermittelt ein Mathematikstudium daher auch:

  • Abstraktionsvermögen und die Befähigung zum Erkennen von Analogien und Grundmustern,
  • Fähigkeiten zum Einordnen, Erkennen, Formulieren und Lösen von Problemen,
  • Training von konzeptionellem, analytischem und logischem Denken,
  • Kommunikationsfertigkeiten und Befähigung zur Teamarbeit durch das gemeinsame Bearbeiten von mathematischen Problemen.


Es bereitet so auf eine große Bandbreite von beruflichen Einsatzmöglichkeiten vor. Im Hinblick darauf bietet das Studium der Mathematik in Göttingen eine solide, anspruchsvolle Ausbildung, die breite Grundkenntnisse und wissenschaftliche Arbeitsmethoden vermittelt.

In Göttingen werden Studierende der Mathematik hierbei besonders gut betreut: Fachlich geschieht dies in den unterschiedlichsten Zusatzangeboten wie Saalübungen, Praktika und Repetitorien vom ersten Semester an. Das Studienbüro hilft weiterhin bei allen organisatorischen Belangen der Studierenden umfassend weiter.

Göttinger Studienschwerpunkte in Mathematik
Den vier Forschungsschwerpunkten der Fakultät entsprechend werden vier Studienschwerpunkte angeboten, nämlich zwei grundlagenorientierte Schwerpunkte

  • SP1: Analysis-Geometrie-Topologie,
  • SP2: Algebra-Geometrie-Zahlentheorie


und zwei anwendungsorientierte Schwerpunkte

  • SP3: Numerische und Angewandte Mathematik,
  • SP4: Mathematische Stochastik.





Aufbau des Studiums
Das Studium im Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik gliedert sich in drei Studienabschnitte, und zwar in ein Basisstudium im ersten Jahr, ein Aufbaustudium im zweiten Jahr und ein Vertiefungsstudium im dritten Jahr.

Im Basisstudium im ersten Studienjahr werden Grundkenntnisse und Fähigkeiten erworben, die im gesamten weiteren Studium gebraucht werden. Hier werden die Basismodule Analysis I und II sowie AGLA I und II absolviert, wobei die Abkürzung AGLA für "Analytische Geometrie und Lineare Algebra" steht.

Im zweiten Studienjahr beginnt das Aufbaustudium, in dem Studierende Grundvorlesungen aus allen vier oben genannten Göttinger Studienschwerpunkten besuchen, um sich dann für einen Studienschwerunkt entscheiden zu können, in dem sie die Bachelorarbeit schreiben möchten.

Im Vertiefungsstudium im dritten Studienjahr sind weiterführende Mathematikveranstaltungen sowie das Schreiben der Bachelorarbeit vorgesehen.

Studienprofile
Im Bachelor-Studiengang Mathematik werden drei forschungsorientierte Studienprofile angeboten: ein allgemeines forschungsorientiertes Profil F, ein praxisorientiertes Profil P und ein physikorientiertes Profil Phy. Diese unterscheiden sich in Aufbau- und Vertiefungsstudium.
Das Profil F bietet die größtmögliche Wahlfreiheit bezüglich der mathematischen Veranstaltungen. Im Profil P kann man nur die beiden anwendungsorientierten Studienschwerpunkte wählen und das Absolvieren einiger Veranstaltungen aus diesen Schwerpunkten sowie eines Praktikums ist vorgeschrieben.
Im Profil Phy ist man bei der Wahl des Nebenfachs auf Physik festgelegt und es sind zusätzlich dazu verschiedene Physikveranstaltungen verbindlich vorgeschrieben.

Nebenfächer
Mathematik wird immer zusammen mit einem Nebenfach studiert. In den Profilen F und Profil P können als Nebenfach die Fächer Informatik, Theoretische Physik, Experimentalphysik, Chemie, Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Philosophie in Frage. Im Profil Phy ist Physik Nebenfach.

Berufsfelder
Absolventinnen und Absolventen eines erfolgreichen Bachelorstudiums in Mathematik haben sehr gute Berufsmöglichkeiten in Banken, Versicherungen, Beratungs- und Wirtschaftsunternehmen, in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilungen großer Unternehmen oder der gewerblichen Wirtschaft, in den Beratungs- und Verkaufsabteilungen von Firmen der technischen Branche sowie der Datenverarbeitungs- und der Werbebranche.