In publica commoda

History (B.A.) (2 subjects / teacher training)

Features

« If you want to measure the narrowness of your homeland, travel. If you want to measure the narrowness of your time, study history. »Kurt Tucholsky

History is an encounter with the unfamiliar, a journey into other times, worlds and cultures. People expect knowledge of their history to provide guidance for political action and for shaping their societies, and their actions can only be understood if we know their ideas about the past. The first university in the world to dedicate its own house to this need was Göttingen University, and the house was ours, our Institute, or more precisely: the Seminar for Medieval and Modern History and the Department of Ancient History. Our range of topics covers not only all older and more recent epochs, but also broad areas of global history.

Programme:
History
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects / teacher training)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
restricted admission (application to the University)

Details

You will acquire a wide range of skills in your history studies.

  1. Researching historical events and contexts
  2. Analysis of sources as a basis for your own thesis
  3. Investigating and reflecting on regional and global interconnections
  4. Key skills in presentation and communication
  5. Knowledge of material science
  6. Taught history in fields related to the profession

The Bachelor's programme in History integrates the subject areas of economic and social history, non-European and Eastern European history from the very beginning.

Over the course of your Bachelor's degree in History, you will become acquainted with various epochs and subject areas.

  • Didactics of History
  • Theories and methods

    Theoretical reflection on one's own subject is part of studying history in Göttingen from the very beginning.

    Questions about the social and political significance of history as well as about how history is actually made, i.e. written, narrated or filmed, are central to your studies in Göttingen. All courses contribute to this topic. With the area "Theory and Methods of Historical Studies", you have a focus at your disposal that, unlike other universities, supports you to a special degree in effectively developing your skills and knowledge, telling and conveying stories in a meaningful, exciting and scientifically-methodologically secured way.

  • Ancient History

    The subject of Ancient History covers the entire history of the ancient Mediterranean region and its civilisations, from the beginning of the written tradition to the middle of the 1st millennium A.D. The focus is on ancient Greece and Rome, but also on their "neighbours" from Britain to North Africa and from the Iberian Peninsula to the Near East.

  • Middle Ages

    The history of the Middle Ages is represented in Göttingen by two chairs and their teams. The Early and High Middle Ages (ca. 500 - 1250) by Prof. Dr. Hedwig Röckelein, the High and Late Middle Ages (11th - 15th centuries) by Prof. Dr. Frank Rexroth.

    The Professorship for Lower Saxony Regional History also offers events in the field of the Middle Ages (see Lower Saxony Regional History below). The respective research focuses include: the history of education, gender and religious practices from Late Antiquity to the High Middle Ages, as well as the university and knowledge (society) history of the High and Late Middle Ages.

  • Early Modern Times

    The early modern period covers the period from about 1500 to 1800. During this time, profound processes of change take place. These include European expansion and its consequences, the media, scientific and political revolutions. It is also an age of European and global warfare. In Göttingen, we are primarily concerned with the everyday and global history of war and violence, the history of knowledge (society), the significance of dynasties and economies. The founding of the university in the 18th century means that the library has excellent holdings from this period.

    Teaching and research are represented by two chairs and their teams: Prof. Marian Füssel and Prof. Peter Burschel

  • Modern Times and Contemporary History

    Three chairs deal with the modern period (from about 1800).

    The long 19th century (from the French Revolution to the end of the First World War) is represented by Prof. Rebekka Habermas and her team. They are interested in, among other things, German colonial history, global interconnections of knowledge, environmental history, history of the religious and the secular, gender history, history of crime and the history of historiography.

    Prof. Dr. Dirk Schumann and his staff deal with topics of the 20th century, above all with the history of violence, especially of war memory and processing, with youth and education in the "long" 20th century, with the history of the Weimar Republic and National Socialism, not least under gender-historical aspects, as well as with the history of (other) states of exception and catastrophes.

    European culture and contemporary history, i.e. the ever-shifting history of the still living, is represented by Prof. Dr. Petra Terhoeven and her team. She is particularly interested in the history of political violence and terrorism in the 20th century, mass media and visuality (in) history, gender-historical perspectives and processes of collective memory.

  • Eastern European History.

    In Göttingen, Eastern European History covers the geographical-historical space of the former Tsarist Empire and the Soviet Union from the 18th century to the present, thus reaching into non-European spaces (including Central Asia). In addition, we also offer events on South Eastern Europe. We are interested in the history of these spaces beyond the national. Topics such as sport, violence, gender, war, terrorism, occupation, historical memory and knowledge transfer are of particular interest to us. We often look at them from an everyday historical perspective.

  • Lower Saxony Regional History.

    With the Institute for Historical Regional Research, Lower Saxony's regional history is assured an important space also in teaching. Events from the entire period from the Middle Ages to the present are offered, with a focus on the medieval and early modern history of the historical region.

  • Indian and Chinese History.

    Modern Indian history is based at the Centre for Modern Indian Studies, while events on modern Chinese history are regularly offered by the East Asian Seminar.

    Thematically, they focus on the social history of maritime labour in South Asia and the emergence of an Indian social policy in the mid-20th century, as well as China's transnational connections in the past and present.

  • Economic and Social History.

    This sub-field of historical studies is represented in teaching and research by the Institute of Economic and Social History.

    Main topics of the courses concern the history of business and consumption as well as the history of globalisation in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Knowledge of Latin as well as of one more modern foreign language must be proven by the time of registration for the Master's thesis. It is possible to acquire the necessary knowledge during the course of study.

The degree B.A. History (2 subjects / teacher training) serves as a qualification to work in the communication of history and culture with regard to historical and political areas and topics, e.g. in cultural institutions or in historico-political education. The subsequent programme M.A. History (2 subjects / teacher training) is the qualification required for work at secondary schools as a teacher in the subject History, as well as in the non-school communication of history.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

Regulations and module directory


Combination of subjects for the teaching profession

Some combinations of subjects must be approved:

Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Tina Seufer and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Academic Advising

Seminar for Medieval and Modern History
Dr. Maria Rhode

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen

Phone.: +49 551 39 24645

mrhode@gwdg.de

Homepage

Department of Ancient History
Dr. Jutta Günther

Humboldtallee 21
37073 Göttingen

Phone.: +49 551 39 4720

jutta.guenther@uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Area of professionalisation and teaching profession

Studiendekanat Lehrer*innenbildung
Waldweg 26
DE-37073 Göttingen

Homepage

In publica commoda

Geschichte (B.A.) (2-Fächer/Profil Lehramt)

Steckbrief

« Wer die Enge seiner Heimat ermessen will, reise. Wer die Enge seiner Zeit ermessen will, studiere Geschichte. »Kurt Tucholsky

Geschichte ist eine Begegnung mit dem Fremden, eine Reise in andere Zeiten, Welten und Kulturen. Menschen versprechen sich von der Kenntnis ihrer Geschichte Anleitungen für politisches Handeln und für die Ausgestaltung ihrer Gesellschaften, und ihr Handeln ist nur zu verstehen, wenn wir ihre Vorstellungen von der Vergangenheit kennen. Die erste Hochschule weltweit, die diesem Bedürfnis ein eigenes Haus gewidmet hat, war die Göttinger Universität, und das Haus war unseres, unser Institut, genauer: das Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Geschichte und das Althistorische Seminar. Unser Themenspektrum umfasst nicht nur sämtliche älteren und jüngeren Epochen, sondern auch weite Bereiche der globalen Geschichte.

Name des Studienfachs:
Geschichte
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer/Profil Lehramt)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Inhalte

In ihrem Geschichtsstudium erwerben Sie vielfältige Kompetenzen.

  1. Recherche historischer Ereignisse und Zusammenhänge
  2. Quellenanalyse als Basis eigener Thesenbildung
  3. Ermittlung und Reflexion regionaler und globaler Verflechtungen
  4. Schlüsselkompetenzen in der Präsentation und Kommunikation
  5. materialwissenschaftliche Kenntnisse
  6. Vermittlung von Geschichte in berufsnahen Feldern

Der Bachelorstudiengang Geschichte integriert von Beginn an die Fachgebiete Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte, außereuropäische und osteuropäische Geschichte.

Im Laufe Ihres Bachelor-Studiums Geschichte werden Sie verschiedene Epochen und Fachgebiete kennenlernen.

  • Didaktik der Geschichte
  • Theorien und Methoden

    Die theoretisch Reflexion des eigenen Faches gehört von Anfang an zum Studium der Geschichtswissenschaft in Göttingen.

    Fragen nach der gesellschaftlichen und politischen Bedeutung der Geschichte als auch danach, wie Geschichte eigentlich gemacht, d.h. geschrieben, erzählt oder verfilmt wird, sind in Göttingen zentraler Inhalt Ihres Studiums. Alle Veranstaltungen tragen zu diesem Thema bei. Mit dem Bereich „Theorie und Methoden der Geschichtswissenschaft“ steht Ihnen ein Schwerpunkt zur Verfügung, der anders als andere Universitäten Sie in besonderem Maße unterstützt, Ihre Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse effektiv weiterzuentwickeln, Geschichten sinnvoll, spannend und wissenschaftlich-methodisch abgesichert zu erzählen und zu vermitteln.

  • Alte Geschichte

    Der Gegenstand der Alten Geschichte umfasst die gesamte Historie des antiken Mittelmeerraums und seiner Zivilisationen, vom Beginn der schriftlichen Überlieferung bis zur Mitte des 1. Jahrtausends n. Chr. Im Zentrum stehen das antike Griechenland und Rom, aber auch deren "Nachbarn" von Britannien bis Nordafrika und von der Iberischen Halbinsel bis nach Vorderasien.

  • Mittelalter

    Die Geschichte des Mittelalters wird in Göttingen durch zwei Lehrstühle und ihre Teams vertreten. Das Frühe und Hohe Mittelalter (ca. 500 - 1250) durch Prof. Dr. Hedwig Röckelein, das Hoch- und Spätmittelalter (11.-15. Jahrhundert) durch Prof. Dr. Frank Rexroth.

    Auch die Professur für niedersächsische Landesgeschichte bietet Veranstaltungen aus dem Bereich des Mittelalters an (s.u. Niedersächsische Landesgeschichte) Zu den jeweiligen Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören u.a.: die Geschichte der Bildung, der Geschlechter und der religiösen Praktiken von der Spätantike bis ins Hohe Mittelalter sowie die Universitäts- und Wissens(chafts)geschichte des Hoch- und Spätmittelalters.

  • Frühe Neuzeit

    Die Frühe Neuzeit umfasst den Zeitraum von ca. 1500 bis 1800. In dieser Zeit finden tiefgreifende Wandlungsprozesse statt. Dazu gehören die europäische Expansion und ihre Folgen, die Medien-, die wissenschaftlichen und politischen Revolutionen. Sie ist auch ein Zeitalter europäischer und globaler Kriegsverdichtung. In Göttingen beschäftigen wir uns vornehmlich mit der Alltags- und Globalgeschichte von Krieg und Gewalt, der Wissens(chafts)geschichte, der Bedeutung von Dynastien und Ökonomien. Die Gründung der Universität im 18. Jahrhundert bringt es mit sich, dass die Bibliothek über hervorragende Bestände aus dieser Zeit verfügt.

    Lehre und Forschung werden durch zwei Lehrstühle und ihre Teams vertreten: Prof. Marian Füssel und Prof. Peter Burschel

  • Neueste Zeit und Zeitgeschichte

    Mit der Neuzeit (ab ca. 1800) beschäftigen sich drei Lehrstühle.

    Das lange 19. Jahrhundert (von der Französischen Revolution bis zum Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs) wird durch Prof. Rebekka Habermas und ihr Team vertreten. Sie interessieren sich u.a. für die deutsche Kolonialgeschichte, für globale Verflechtungen des Wissens, Umweltgeschichte, Geschichte des Religiösen und des Säkularen, Geschlechtergeschichte, Kriminalitätsgeschichte und die Geschichte der Geschichtsschreibung.

    Prof. Dr. Dirk Schumann und seine Mitarbeiter*innen befassen sich mit Themen des 20. Jahrhunderts, vor allem mit der Geschichte der Gewalt, insbesondere von Kriegserinnerung und -verarbeitung, mit Jugend und Erziehung im "langen" 20. Jahrhundert, mit der Geschichte der Weimarer Republik und des Nationalsozialismus, nicht zuletzt unter geschlechtergeschichtlichen Aspekten, sowie mit der Geschichte von (anderen) Ausnahmezuständen und Katastrophen.

    Die europäische Kultur und Zeitgeschichte, also die sich immer weiter verschiebende Geschichte der noch Lebenden, vertritt Prof. Dr. Petra Terhoeven mit ihrem Team. Sie interessiert sich insbesondere für die Geschichte der politischen Gewalt und des Terrorismus im 20. Jahrhundert, für Massenmedien und Visualität (in) der Geschichte, für geschlechtergeschichtliche Perspektiven und Prozesse kollektiver Erinnerung.

  • Osteuropäische Geschichte

    In Göttingen bildet die Osteuropäische Geschichte den geographisch-historischen Raum des ehemaligen Zarenreichs und der Sowjetunion vom 18. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart ab und reicht damit in außereuropäische Räume (u.a. Zentralasien) hinein. Ergänzend bieten wir auch Veranstaltungen zu Südosteuropa an. Uns interessiert die Geschichte dieser Räume jenseits des Nationalen. Themen wie Sport, Gewalt, Geschlecht, Krieg, Terrorismus, Besatzung, historische Erinnerung, Wissenstransfer fesseln uns ganz besonders. Wir betrachten sie häufig aus einer alltagsgeschichtlichen Perspektive.

  • Niedersächsische Landesgeschichte

    Mit dem Institut für Historische Landesforschung ist der niedersächsischen Landesgeschichte ein bedeutender Raum auch in der Lehre gesichert. Angeboten werden Veranstaltungen aus dem gesamten Zeitraum vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf der mittelalterlichen und frühneuzeitlichen Geschichte der historischen Region.

  • Indische und chinesische Geschichte

    Die moderne Indische Geschichte ist am Centre for Modern Indian Studies angesiedelt, Veranstaltungen zur modernen chinesischen Geschichte bietet regelmäßig das Ostasiatische Seminar an.

    Thematisch konzentrieren sie sich auf die Sozialgeschichte maritimer Arbeit in Südasien und die Entstehung einer indischen Sozialpolitik in der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie die transnationalen Verbindungen Chinas in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart.

  • Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte

    Dieser Teilbereich der Geschichtswissenschaft wird durch das Institut für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte in Lehre und Forschung vertreten.

    Hauptthemen der Lehrveranstaltungen betreffen die Unternehmens- und Konsumgeschichte sowie die Geschichte der Globalisierung des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts.

Gute Englischkenntnisse werden dringend empfohlen.

Bis zur Meldung zur Master-Arbeit sind fachbezogene Lateinkenntnisse auf Niveau des Kleinen Latinums und Kenntnisse einer neueren Fremdsprache nachzuweisen. Der Nachweis der Sprachanforderungen kann durch das Abiturzeugnis, das Zeugnis des Erweiterten Sekundarabschlusses nach vierjährigem Unterricht in der jeweiligen Sprache (mindestens ausreichend) oder weitere Zeugnisse (z.B. das (Kleine) Latinum) erfolgen. Es besteht die Möglichkeit die notwendigen Kenntnisse im Laufe des Studiums zu erwerben.

Der BA-Abschluss Geschichte (Zwei-Fächer Bachelor/Lehramt) qualifiziert unmittelbar zur geschichts- und kulturvermittelnden Tätigkeit. Diese hat in der Regel Bezug zu historisch-politischen Räumen und Themen. Absolventen haben Kompetenzen für die Arbeit in kulturellen Einrichtungen und im Bereich der historisch-politischen Bildungseinrichtungen. Der konsekutive MA-Studiengang Geschichte (Zwei-Fächer Bachelor/Lehramt) qualifiziert insbesondere für das Lehramt des Faches Geschichte an Höheren Schulen, aber auch für weitere Bereiche außerschulischer Geschichtsvermittlung.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Fächerkombination für das Lehramt am Gymnasium

Für einige Kombinationsmöglichkeiten mit anderen Lehramtsfächern ist ein zusätzlicher Antrag notwendig:

Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
StaatsbüCrger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Geschichte
Dr. Maria Rhode

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 24645

mrhode@gwdg.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Althistorisches Seminar
Dr. Jutta Günther

Humboldtallee 21
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 4720

jutta.guenther@uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Professionalisierungsbereich und Lehrerberuf

Studiendekanat Lehrer*innenbildung
Waldweg 26
DE-37073 Göttingen

Homepage