In publica commoda

World Literature (B.A.)

Features

Would you like to turn your passion for literature into your future career? Or explore literature as a global phenomenon? Then you have come to the right place by choosing the Mono-Bachelor “World Literature” from the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Göttingen.

We will take you to the Old Icelandic epics and Chinese novellas,
Greek tragedies and the Russian avant-garde,
texts in cuneiform and postmodern Hypertext stories,
parchment manuscripts and the modern globalised print and digital book market.…

Programme:
World Literature (B.A.)
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Option:
Double Degree
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German; English in part
Language requirements:
German, English and a third language
Admission:
open (enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
at the begin of your studies orientation events are offered

Get to know us

Programme specific Videoposter

Why World Literature?

Students share their stories

Cross-programme Schnupperstudium
from end

Trial study programme

Visit lectures and courses


Details

This study program will invite you to explore literature of all major world regions. The extraordinary variety of European and non-European philologies at the University of Goettingen allows for a global study of literature. You will read prominent works of world’s literature and examine their temporal, spatial and cultural associations. This course is perfect for the applicants who would like to turn their interest in literature into a professional calling.

You will explore the European and the global interconnections of literature and learn how literary styles and periods have spread beyond the boundaries of their origins. You will understand how texts allude to and authors learn from each other. You will marvel over the literary richness of our world and investigate the cultures that are its creators. The interpretation of such literary devices as metaphor, narrative perspective or rhyme, among others, will clarify for you how the literature functions. You will learn about the specific possibilities of such genres as prose, lyric or dramatic verse and gain the ability to evaluate the qualities of literary works. While working with literary texts you will study and apply journalistic and scientific methods of analysis, which should help you prepare for a subsequent course of study or a professional career.

You are required to present proof of proficiency in 3 languages at the start of the study program.

The level of language understanding in either German or English should be no less than C1 (advanced) of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and B2 (upper intermediate) respectively. At variance with the standard terms of admission, you may enroll in this course with a B2 (DHS-1) language proficiency level if German is not your first language.

Your third language, if modern, should be certified at B1 (intermediate) level and in case of a classic one you must provide the Latinum (intermediate Latin), the Graecum (Old Greek) or the Hebraecum (Old Hebrew) certificate.

You must be able to acquire an advanced (CEFR C1) proficiency certification in both German and English after the first few semesters, specifically, in German – after the first, and in English – after the second course semester. The program contains language courses to prepare you for the language tests in question.

As part of the World Literature programme, students have the option of choosing a double-degree specialisation after the second semester. This specialisation includes a one-year stay at the respective partner university. Currently, it is possible to obtain a double-degree with the University of Arizona (Tucson, USA) or with the East China Normal University in Shanghai (Shanghai, China). A third double-degree programme with Voronezh State University (Voronezh, Russia) is to be introduced in the winter semester 2021/22. After completing a double-degree programme, you will be awarded a B.A. from two universities.

Currently, the DAAD supports the year abroad of Göttingen World Literature students with three to six scholarships, depending on the partner university.

dd_optionen

The abundance of course offers is naturally reflected in the available professional opportunities.

An internship at a German or foreign literary institution (publishing house, media, literary hub, press, radio, collection, archive, editing, literary museum) is recommended for the professional orientation and will be considered an accreditable part of the course program.

This course, mostly in combination with a secondary study, will prepare you to work in the following professional fields:

  • Literary agent
  • Publisher
  • Lecturer
  • Rights dealer
  • Translator
  • Writer
  • Editor
  • Manager of literary and art festivals, museums, fairs and exhibitions.

Consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

The degree programme is divided into three areas. In the first year of study, the focus is on language skills and the forms and functions of literary processes. Building on this, in the following semesters you will deal with world literary works around the globe, their genres, and their historical epochs. Your own course of study is formed from a broad range of electives in cooperation with the individual subjects of linguistics and literary studies.

Studienaufbau

Multiple practical modules and workshops with authors offer the opportunity to get to know the literary world from different perspectives.

We expressly welcome a semester abroad, but it is not compulsory. In addition to stays abroad within the framework of Erasmus+ programmes, the degree programme also offers the possibility to choose a Double-Degree major, which enables you to complete a degree in World Literature/ World Literature at two universities at the same time: at the University of Göttingen and at the partner university of the respective major.

Regulations and module directory


Language requirements before commencement of study

upper intermediate to advanced proficiency levels in German and English plus intermediate proficiency in a third additional language.

Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Academic Advising

Dr. Katja Freise
Seminar für Slavische Philologie
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Humboldtallee 19
Raum 3.216
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49-551 39 10213
weltliteratur@uni-goettingen.de

Programme homepage
Advisory services for study foci
Advisory services for admission to master's degree programmes

In publica commoda

Weltliteratur/World Literature (B.A.)

Steckbrief

Ist Literatur Ihre Leidenschaft, die Sie zu Ihrem Beruf machen wollen? Möchten Sie sich aber Literatur als globales Phänomen erschließen? In diesem Studiengang beschäftigen Sie sich ausgiebig mit einem weiten Feld…

…von den altisländischen Epen bis zur chinesischen Novelle,
von den griechischen Tragödien bis zur russischen Avantgarde,
von Texten in Keilschrift bis zu postmodernen Hypertexten,
von Pergamenten bis zu den globalisierten Buchmärkten…

Name des Studienfachs:
Weltliteratur/World Literature (B.A.)
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch; teilweise Englisch
Sprachanforderungen:
Deutsch, Englisch und eine dritte Sprache
Zulassung:
Zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fächerübergreifend Schnupperstudium
ab 15.
APR

Schnupper­studium

Be­suchen Sie Vor­lesun­gen


Inhalte

In diesem Studiengang setzen Sie sich mit Literatur aus allen Regionen der Welt auseinander. Die besondere Vielzahl der inner- und außereuropäischen Philologien an der Universität Göttingen erlaubt ein globales Studium der Literatur. Sie lesen die Literaturen der Welt und hinterfragen zeitliche, räumliche und kulturelle Zuordnungen. Der Studiengang zielt auf Studieninteressierte, die Ihr Interesse an Literatur zu Ihrem Beruf machen wollen.

Sie erkunden die europäische und weltweite Vernetzung von Literatur und erfahren dabei, wie Stile und Epochen sich über Grenzen hinweg ausgebreitet haben. Sie erfahren, wie Texte aufeinander anspielen und wie Autoren voneinander lernen. Sie lernen den literarischen Reichtum der Welt kennen und setzen sich mit den Kulturen auseinander, aus denen sie stammen. Indem Sie literarische Verfahren wie Metaphern, Reime oder Erzählperspektive für die Interpretation auswerten wird Ihnen deutlich, wie Literatur funktioniert. Sie lernen die besonderen Möglichkeiten von Gattungen wie Prosa, Lyrik oder Dramatik kennen und lernen die Qualitäten von Literatur einzuschätzen. Sie erlernen und erproben das Handwerkszeug des publizistischen und des wissenschaftlichen Umgangs mit Texten und bereiten sich so auf weiterführende Studiengänge oder auf ihren beruflichen Einstieg vor.

Sie müssen insgesamt Kenntnisse in mindestens drei Sprachen zum Studienbeginn nachweisen können.

Entweder Deutsch oder Englisch müssen Sie auf Niveau C1 des europäischen Referenzrahmens beherrschen, während die jeweils andere Sprache auf Niveau B2 beherrscht werden muss. Abweichend von den üblichen Bestimmungen können Sie diesen Studiengang bereits mit Deutschkenntnissen auf Niveau B2 (DSH-1) des europäischen Referenzrahmens beginnen, wenn Deutsch nicht Ihre Muttersprache ist.

Für die dritte Sprache müssen Sie bei Studienbeginn entweder bereits Kenntnisse auf Niveau B1 im Falle einer modernen Sprache oder das Graecum, das Kleine Latinum oder das Hebraeicum im Falle einer alten Sprache nachweisen können.

Sowohl in Deutsch als auch in Englisch müssen Sie nach den ersten Semestern Sprachkenntnisse auf Niveau C1 des europäischen Referenzrahmens nachweisen. In Deutsch müssen Sie die Kenntnisse spätestens nach dem ersten Fachsemester und in Englisch spätestens nach dem zweiten Fachsemester vorweisen können. Im Rahmen Ihres Studiums bereiten Sie Sprachkurse auf die einschlägigen Sprachprüfungen vor.

Im Rahmen des Studiengangs Weltliteratur besteht die Möglichkeit, nach dem zweiten Semester einen Double-Degree-Studienschwerpunkt zu wählen. Dieser Studienschwerpunkt schließt einen einjährigen Aufenthalt an der jeweiligen Partneruniversität ein. Derzeit ist es möglich, einen Double-Degree-Abschluss mit der University of Arizona (Tucson, USA) oder mit der East China Normal University in Shanghai (Shanghai, China) zu erlangen. Ein dritter Double-Degree-Studienschwerpunkt mit der Staatlichen Universität Voronezh (Voronezh, Russland) soll zum WS 2021/22 eingeführt werden. Nach Abschluss eines Double-Degree-Studiums bekommen Sie den B.A. von zwei Universitäten verliehen.

Gegenwärtig fördert der DAAD das Auslandsjahr von Göttinger Weltliteraturstudierenden je nach Partneruniversität mit drei bis sechs Stipendien.

dd_optionen

Die Breite des Studienangebots spiegelt sich in den möglichen Berufsperspektiven wider. Verlage, Medien, Literaturhäuser und Bibliotheken – für alle auf Literatur bezogenen Arbeitsplätze jenseits der Schule bietet dieser Studiengang eine Grundlage.

Ein Praktikum in einer in- oder ausländischen Einrichtung des Literaturbetriebs (Zeitschrift, Blog, Verlag, Literaturhaus, Presse, Rundfunk, Sammlung, Archive, Edition, Literaturmuseum) wird zur Berufsorientierung empfohlen und ist bereits als anrechenbarer Teil des Studiums vorgesehen.

Dieser Studiengang bereitet – in der Regel erst in Verbindung mit einem weiterführenden Studiengang – auf folgende Berufsfelder vor:

  • Literaturagent/-in
  • Verleger/-in
  • Lektor/-in
  • Rechtehändler/-in
  • Schriftsteller/-in
  • Vermittler/-in für Literatur
  • Manager/-in von Literaturhäusern, -festivals, -messen, literarischen Museen und Ausstellungen

Weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Studiengang gliedert sich in drei Bereiche. Im ersten Studienjahr stehen die Sprachkenntnisse und die Formen und Funktionen literarischer Verfahren im Vordergrund. Aufbauend beschäftigen Sie sich in den folgenden Semestern mit weltliterarischen Werken rund um den Globus, ihren Gattungen, und ihren historischen Epochen. Aus einem breiten Wahlpflichtbereich wird in Zusammenarbeit mit den einzelnen sprach- und literaturwissenschaftlichen Fächern der eigene Studienverlauf gebildet.

Studienaufbau

Mehrere Praxismodule und Workshops mit Autoren bieten die Möglichkeit, den Literaturbetrieb aus verschiedenen Perspektiven kennenzulernen.

Ein Auslandssemester begrüßen wir ausdrücklich, es ist aber nicht verpflichtend. Neben Auslandsaufenthalten im Rahmen von Erasmus+-Programmen bietet der Studiengang außerdem die Möglichkeit, einen Double-Degree-Studienschwerpunkt zu wählen, der es Ihnen ermöglicht, einen Abschluss in Weltliteratur/ World Literature an zwei Universitäten zugleich zu machen: an der Universität Göttingen und an der Partneruniversität des jeweiligen Studienschwerpunktes.

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn

gute bis sehr gute Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse, sowie Kenntnisse in einer dritten Sprache.

Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
StaatsbüCrger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. Katja Freise
Seminar für Slavische Philologie
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Humboldtallee 19
Raum 3.216
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49-551 39 10213
weltliteratur@uni-goettingen.de

Homepage des Studienfachs
Fachberatung für Studienbereiche
Fachberatung für Zugang zu weiterführenden Masterstudiengängen